Make your own free website on Tripod.com
St. Croix County Biographies and Historical Sketches

HOME

St. Croix County Townships Map | St. Croix County (1909) | Early History of St. Croix County | Villages, Townships & Municipalities | St. Joseph, Troy & Warren Townships | Stanton & Star Prairie Townships | Rush River, Somerset & Springfield Townships | Richmond Township, City of New Richmond | Kinnickinnic & Pleasant Valley Townships | Hudson Township & City of Hudson | Forest, Glenwood & Hammond Townships | Eau Galle, Emerald and Erin Townships | Baldwin, Cady & Cylon Townships
T
Templeman, Thayer, Thelen, Thompson, Toal, Torgerson, Trickey, Tubman

Templeman

F. C. Templeman is a native of Germany, born June 17, 1855, a son of Frederick and Minnie (Bublitz) Templeman, who came to the United States in 1855 and located at Milwaukee, where the father worked nine years in a distillery, being foreman five years, after which he began farming in Columbia County, Wisconsin. The father died in 1893 and the mother in 1892. F. C. was educated in the public schools and worked at farming until he went into the insurance business, being engaged with the Farmers Mutal Insurance Company of Arlington, Wis. He made a great success of this business, continuing for five years. He was one of the directors of the company, During his residence in Columbia County he was town treasurer, school district clerk nine years and member of the town board, and president of the Greenwood Cemetery Association in Leeds for four years. In 1899 he came to Warren Township and purchased 400 acres of land. He sold and purchased several other farms in succession and now owns a large farm, consisting of 280 acres in this township. The place is north of Roberts and is known as the "Pleasant View Stock Farm." Upon this farm he buys, raises and sells driving and Percheron horses. For three years he owned a fine Percheron stallion, but he has now disposed of him. October 1, he left the farm and retired to his fine house in Roberts village, leaving his son, Ben, in charge of the farm. In 1880 Mr. Templeman was married to Dora Schlichtman, daughter of Peter and Catherine (Borway) Schlichtman, natives of Germany. Her parents lived for a time at Arlington, Wis., but now reside at Blue Hill, Neb. Mr. and Mrs. Templeman have five children: Benjamin F., Janette, Arthur, Clara and Minnie. Janette married Thomas Tobin and lives at Blue Hill, Neb. Mr. Templeman is a great believer in education and has given his children the advantages of considerable schooling. He and his sons vote the Democratic ticket. The sons are members of the I. O. O F. Mr. Templeman is a worthy example of the type of men who have gained success by their own efforts. He is a believer and worker in every good cause that tends for the betterment of the community.

Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

Thayer

A.P. Thayer comes of old New England stock, being descended in an unbroken line from the original Thayer who came to America in 1600. He was born in Thompson, Conn., the 22nd day of September, 1837, and is the only son of John and Hanna Elliott (Crosby) Thayer. His father came westward when A. P. was still a young lad and ran a sawmill at Bloomingberg, Ohio, for nine years, when it burned to the ground. In Cambridge City, Ind., in 1848, a still greater misfortune befell the family, for there Mrs. Thayer passed away when his son was at the tender age of ten years. In this town John Thayer taught school and did clerical work in a drug store. While residing in Seneca County, Ohio, for a period of seven years, he married Sarepta Stickney, of New York state, in 1850. In 1856 he decided to settle in Wisconsin. He came up the river in a boat and landed at Prescott, driving his team to Hudson, visiting a brother, Rev. Charles Thayer. He then came to Hammond, where he took up some school land and started to till the soil. He built the first hotel in that town, and was also the first resident in the village. This he conducted until 1872, when the railroad was built. For twenty-four years he was postmaster at Hammond, being the first to hold that position. He was also notary and justice of the peace for many years. His career came to an end the 30th day of December 1893. In 1862 A. P. Thayer was married to Katie C. Bowen, of New York State. When the call came for volunteers in 1864 he enlisted in the ranks of Company A, Forty-fourth Wisconsin Infantry, August 25. He served until the close of the war in 1865. Until 1872 he followed farming, after which he established a mercantile business, which he continued until 1902. He has now retired from active life and since the death of his wife in 1903 he has lived alone, doing his own housework and devoting his attention to his splendid yard, which is one beautiful mass of plants, roses, flower beds, etc., surrounding a pretty house. In addition to conducting his business, Mr. Thayer has done considerable surveying, and for several years was assistant postmaster. Mr. Thayer has always voted the Republican ticket. He has two children, Rufus E., at present at Pine City, Minn., and Hanna A., at New Richmond, Wis.

(taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

Thelen

Michael Thelen is a native of Germany. He was born near the historic Rhine on the 14th day of February 1831. He came to America in 1856, locating at once in Minnesota. At that time Stillwater was a larger place than St. Paul. After a short period, Mr. Thelen moved to St. Joseph Township, in 1857, and in 1863 he located on his present farm. This he purchased, although he also had a government claim in another part of the county. His property at the present time is an example of what may be accomplished by hard labor under unfavorable conditions, for the now well tilled acres were originally a wild tract of woodland, cleared by Mr. Thelens own exertions. When he started farming Mr. Thelen used a cradle and a flail in place of the modern machinery with which the place is now equipped. He has devoted his life to agricultural pursuits and is still engaged in general farming and stock raising upon his 280 acres. He has raised a large family, several of the members of which still lives at home and assist their father in his work. Mr. Thelen is a Democrat in politics, but has never sought public office. He is one of those men whose word can always be relied upon and whose solid, good judgment, is highly valued by his friends. Mr. Thelen was married in 1859 to Mary Magney, who was born near the Rhine in Germany and came to America in 1852. The children are as follows: Catharine, Bernhard B., Anna, Elizabeth, john P. Rank, who died in 1882; Edith, Mathias J., Emma and Carrie. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

Thompson

A. N. Thompson first saw the light of day in Norway, November 4, 1863, a son of Thomas and Olene (Emunson) Thompson, natives of Norway. They came to America in 1885 and located in Menomonie, Wis., where the mother is still residing. The father passed away in that place in 1901. A. N. received a good education in the common schools of Norway and learned the carpenters trade, which he followed in his native country until 1883, when he came to America and located at Baldwin, in St. Croix County, for one year. He followed his trade the next five years in Menomonie, Wis., and then pursued the same trade in Hudson, Wis., until 1892. In that year he came to the village of Baldwin and engaged in the furniture, funeral directing and undertaking business, which he has followed ever since in partnership with N. O. Johnson, who also shares his beautiful home with him. The firm carries a stock valued at $5,000. In preparation for his present work Mr. Thompson graduated from the Barnes School of Anatomy at Oshkosh, Wis., receiving his diploma from the post-graduate course in anatomy, sanitary science and embalming August 11, 1905. Mr. Thompson was married September 10, 1887, to Mary Johnson, daughter of N. O. and Gorgane Johnson, natives of Norway. Her parents came to American in 1872 and located at Hudson, where they lived until 1902, when the father engaged in business with Mr. Thompson and came to Baldwin. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson have two children: Elvera, born March 6, 1896, and Gladys, born August 22, 1906. Mr. Thompson is a hard worker and his life has been filled with industry. He is a strong supporter of the public school system, a good neighbor, a considerate husband and a kind father. He is a republican in politics and has served as treasurer of school district No. 3 for eleven years. He is an attendant of the Scandinavian Lutheran church, and fraternizes with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America, belonging to the lodges at Baldwin. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

Toal

H. S. Toal now living in retirement in New Richmond, was born, July 27, 1833, at St. Stephen, N. B., Canada, a son of Thomas and Mary (Milbury) Toal. Thomas Toal was a timber estimator and prominent lumberman in the region of the St. Croix River, on the boundary of Maine and Canada. After leaving the common schools H. S. Toal worked twenty-seven years in the St. Croix river valley, Wisconsin, as a lumberman. In 1862 he bought 120 acres at Boardman, town of Richmond, breaking the land and making improvements. He raised stock, grain and general crops and was a breeder of registered Durham Cattle, Poland China hogs and Merino and Shropshire sheep. The cyclone of 1899 swept away his buildings to the number of seven and left his house much dilapidated. Two years later he built new barns and granary and repaired the house. In 1901 he sold this farm to W. E. Webster, of Hudson. Then he bought a house and eight lots in the city of New Richmond, making improvements. He has since resided on this property. Mr. Toal was married in1860 to Mary L. Hitchings, of Robbinston, Me. Her father was one of the selectmen of the town and a well known lumberman and farmer. Mr. and Mrs. Toal have five childrenFred, married to dora Beebe, of Boardman, is in business in Red Wing, Minn.; Abbie is the wife of the Rev. G. W. Campbell, a Methodist preacher now located in Eau Claire; Josephine is employed as copy editor for a Minneapolis publisher; Thomas S., electrician, is superintendent of city water works and lighting plant at Ely, Minn. He married Laura Luff, of Cumberland, Wis. Elva is a music teacher at New Richmond. Mr. Toal has been road commissioner and chairman of the town. He is a staunch Prohibitionist. The family worships at the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

Torgerson

Christian Torgerson is a native of Norway, born March 4, 1840, a son of Torger Christenson, who came to this section of the country August 4, 1858. The family stopped for two weeks at Hudson, Wis., and then settled upon the present place in Cylon Township. The father followed the trade of blacksmithing and died in 1863. Christian was the oldest of three children. A sketch of Louis, the older brother, will be found elsewhere in this history. Annie, the sister, is now deceased. Christian received a common school education and spent his early life much as other boys do. He worked on the farm with his father and was industrious and saving of his money. In 1878 he married Jettie Thompson. This union has been blessed with seven childrenHelen, deceased; Nettie, Theodore, Anna, Harry, Hattie and Jessie. Mr. Torgerson owns 120 acres of good land, about half of which is under the plow. He carries on a diversified farming, raising the usual crops and breeding Shorthorn cattle, Chester White hogs and other live stock. The location of the farm, in Cylon Township, just out of Deer Park, is an ideal one for such a place. Mr. Torgerson votes the Republican ticket and has served on the school board several years. For two years he was assessor. He attends the Methodist church. He is an honest, upright man, a considerate husband and loving father, an honest, upright man, a considerate husband and loving father, a true friend and good neighbor. Mrs. Torgerson is noted for her motherly qualities and housekeeping ability.  (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

Louis Torgerson was born in Norway, February 16, 1841, a son of Torger Christenson, one of the early settlers of St. Croix County. He learned the trade of blacksmithing with his father and with this combined the trade of carpenter. Later he became an expert in the farming business. He now owns 120 acres of good land, nearly all of which is under the plow. He does a general farming and breeds some cattle, hogs, fowls and other live stock. He built his own house, and its stability and comfortable arrangement testify to his abilities as a carpenter. On the inside Mrs. Torgersons excellence as a housekeeper is clearly shown. The barns are commodious and well kept and the stock shows good feeding and careful attention. Mr. Torgerson is a Republican in politics. He has served with much credit as overseer of roads and as road foreman. He is regarded as a successful man, and all his undertakings have proven profitable. He attends the Methodist church and is highly thought of by all who know him. He was married in 1875 to Anna Hansina Tronson, daughter of Andrew Tronson. Her people came from Norway in the early days and settled in this country. The father was a stone mason in the old country, but upon coming here he took up farming. Mr. And Mrs. Torgerson have ten childrenLena, born February 26, 1876; Adolph, February 14, 1878; Christ, August 27, 1880; Mabel, August 14, 1883; Alice was born December 31, 1886; Lillian was born April 20, 1889; Effie was born November 1, 1891; Hazel was born July 28, 1894; Lizzie was born October 29, 1896, and Alpha, born March 5, 1902.  (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

Trickey

John Trickey is a native of Hammond, Wis., born August 25, 1868, son of Jason and Martha (Johnson) Trickey, of New York State and Canada, respectively. The parents came to Wisconsin in the early days and settled in Hammond Township, where they became prominent farmers. The father died in 1875 and the mother passed away in 1882. John received a good education in the common schools of his native village and afterward took up farming, renting a place for eleven years. He then bought eighty acres at Emerald, in March 1899, and broke theland, making the usual improvements. He has since continued to carry on general farming and has been uniformly successful in all his undertakings. A Republican in politics, he has served on the side board two years. Mr. Trickey is a member of Glenwood Lodge, No. 148, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a hard working, industrious man, a thorough believer in education, one who is always ready to help in every undertaking that is for the public good. Being one of the substantial men of the township, he is highly respected by the younger generation and well thought of by those of his own age. Mr. Trickey was married March 23, 1892, to Amelia White, daughter of Carl and Charlotte White, of Emerald, but natives of Germany. The parents came to America in 1882 and located in Vernon, Waukesha county, Wis., remaining until 1888, when they came to this township and engaged in general farming in which they have since continued. Mr. and Mrs. Trickey have three childrenZella, born December 9, 1892; Elsie, born March 31, 1894, and Myrtle, born May 8, 1901. All are at home. Mrs. Trickey is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

Tubman

Edward Tubman is a native of Brooklyn, N. Y., born August 16, 1844, son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Hutchison) Tubman, the mother being a native of Scotland and the father of Ireland. The parents came to America in the early 30s and remained in Brooklyn, N.Y., until 1850, when they moved to Waukesha county, this state and followed farming for several years. In 1856 they came to Hammond township and purchased eighty acres of land, which they broke and developed, carrying on general mixed farming for the remainder of their lives, the father dying June 16, 1881, and the mother passing away October 2, 1895. Edward received his education in the common schools of Hammond. At once upon leaving school he enlisted in the Hudson City Guards, in the spring of 1861, and drilled with that body until autumn of that year, when he enlisted at Prescott, this state, in Company A, Twelfth Wisconsin Volunteers. Colonel George E. Bryant was in command of the regiment and Captains McClyde and Maxson were at the head of the company. He was with Grant at the siege of Vicksburg and accompanied Sherman on his famous march to the sea. During his service he received a bad hand wound and was honorably discharged at the close of the hostilities, at Louisville, Ky. Returning to Hammond, he took up farming, buying 120 acres, which he broke and improved, erecting a beautiful home and commodious buildings. He has since continued to carry on general diversified farming, raising the usual crops and breeding stock, making a specialty of Percheron horses. Mr. Tubman was married June 26, 1870, to Mary L., daughter of George and Sarah (Denwick) Longworth, early settlers and prominent farmers of Warren Township, this state. The father was treasurer of Warren Township for twenty years,. Mr. and Mrs. Tubman have two children: Sarah E., born August 29, 1870, is at home, engaged in the millinery business., George born April 17, 1880, married Annie Walsh and farms on the old homestead. Mr. Tubman is a Republican in politics, having served on the board of supervisors for two years and on the school board for a considerable period. The family is members of the Methodist church. The subject of this sketch is a man of strong convictions and staunch character, an unfailing adherent to duty. As a soldier he was brave and fearless and as a farmer and citizen he is honored and respected. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)