Make your own free website on Tripod.com
St. Croix County Biographies and Historical Sketches

HOME

St. Croix County Townships Map | St. Croix County (1909) | Early History of St. Croix County | Villages, Townships & Municipalities | St. Joseph, Troy & Warren Townships | Stanton & Star Prairie Townships | Rush River, Somerset & Springfield Townships | Richmond Township, City of New Richmond | Kinnickinnic & Pleasant Valley Townships | Hudson Township & City of Hudson | Forest, Glenwood & Hammond Townships | Eau Galle, Emerald and Erin Townships | Baldwin, Cady & Cylon Townships
Baldwin, Cady & Cylon Townships

Baldwin Township

(taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

At a meeting of the county board held December 4, 1872, it was ordered that a certain district known as township 29, north of range 16 west, being a part of Springfield township, be set off from said town and formed into a new township to be known as Baldwin, the first meeting to be held the first Tuesday in April 1873, in the school house in joint district No.4. William Whewell was the chairman of the first board of supervisors. The township is bounded by Emerald, Hammond, Springfield and Eau Galle and is crossed by the Omaha railroad. It is a township of rich farm land and contains two villages, Baldwin and Woodville. The township contains 21,406 acres, having an average value of $26.05. There are in the township 580 horses, valued at $34,800; 3,050 neat cattle, valued at $42,700; 180 sheep and lambs, valued at $540; 280 swine, valued at $1,400. Total value of real estate, $599,300; of personal property, $130,400, making a grand total of $729,700. Following is the acreage devoted to various crops in Baldwin township in 1908; Wheat, 65; corn, 5,408; oats, 1,697; barley, 461; rye, 209; flaxseed, 152; potatoes, 108; cultivated hay, 1,195. There are 700 acres of growing timber and 204 bearing apple trees.

Baldwin Village

(taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", volume 2, published in 1909)

The thriving village of Baldwin was incorporated December 4, 1874. There was some confusion for a time for the reason that the village at that time lapped over into the town of Hammond. There was forty acres of this "foreign" territory, and when the Baldwin people attempted to have the ground set off from Hammond, the people of the latter place opposed the movement, although ultimately it was accomplished by an act of the legislature. Being advantageously situated with railroad communication, the village rapidly increased in population and the future presented a cheerful outlook when on a bright Sunday morning in April, 1884, a fire swept through the village destroying a dozen or more o the buildings in the business part of the city, on which there was small insurance. Again April 7, 1893, a serious and disastrous fire occurred, burning four entire business blocks with the exception of three or four buildings. The loss, which was very large, was well insured. New buildings very soon took the places of those destroyed and were largely of brick. Since this date the village has prospered amazingly and now contains a population of over 1,000 people. The residents there, who are proud of the place, claim that no other village in the state of like size and population can boast of better and cleaner streets or more miles of good sidewalks than Baldwin. Baldwin has an electric light plant, an efficient fire company, an excellent system of waterworks and complete telephone equipment. There are flourishing lodges of the I.O.O.F., A.F.&A.M., M.W.ofA., Rebekahs and W.O.W The Noorwegian Evangelical Lutheran church society was organized in 1874. The Congregational church was organized October 21, 1887. The First St. Lukes Episcopal parish was organized in 1875. The Presbyterian Church, January 8, 1874, and the Baptist in 1897. Baldwin has a fine school building with four departmentsthe high school having been organized in 1899, and has proved successful along educational lines. Nearly every branch of business is representeda planing mill, lumber yard, creamery, flour and feed mills, eight general stores, two hardware stores, two drug stores, one tailor shop, two weekly newspapers, two real estate agents, one dealer in agricultural implements, two harness shops, two jewelers, one meat market, on barber shop, two hotels, five saloons, two restaurants, one bakery, two confectionery stores, three milling establishments, two four and feed stores, two furniture shops, one photograph gallery, two livery stables, one bank, one dentist, doctors and lawyers, one shoe shop, two blacksmith shops, two paint shops, also the usual number of carpenters, stone masons, plasterers, paper hangers, dressmakers, etc. The Bank of Baldwin was incorporated in 1883 by J. A. Decker and Armstrong Taylor, with a capital stock of $25,000. It continued under the management of Mr. Decker as cashier until May 1, 1899, when he sold a controlling interest to several local business men, and N. B. Bailey became cashier. The capital was increased to $50,000 July, 1907, and the officers now are: N.B. Bailey, president; G.H. Pittman, O. A. Saugestad, Ed Stronks, vice presidents; Henry Anderson , cashier; N.L. Swanson, assistant cashier.

 

Woodville Village

(taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

Woodville, with a population of 315, has a Baptist, two Lutheran and one Methodist Espiscopal churches; has a Citizens State Bank with a paid-in capital of $10,000, surplus $2,000; a creamery company; a dealer in grain flour and feed; restaurant and confectionery; hotel and livery; two blacksmith shops; a drug store; livery barn, and meat market.

Cady Township

(taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

At the meeting of the county board, held December 2, 1864, it was voted to divide the township of Eau Galle and all of township 28, north of range 16, west, of the fourth principal meridian, to be formed into a new township to be known as Cady. The election for organization was held the first Tuesday in April, 1870, at the school house in district No. 1, township 29, range 11. Cady is the most southeastern of the townships in St. Croix County and is bounded by Springfield and Equ Galle townships, Pierce and Dunn counties. It is drained by the Eau Galle river and Cady creek. A postoffice was established near the center of the township in 1860, D. C. Davis being the first postmaster. The first supervisors were William Hotman, Charles Palmer and Mead Bailey. The village is Hetchville, in the southeast corner of the township. The township includes 32, 033 acres, having an average valuation of $19.08. There are 380 horses, valued at $22,800; 2,725 cattle, valued at $38,150; 1,120 sheep and lambs, valued at $3,360, and 295 swine, valued at $1,475. The total value of real estate is $429,500, of personal property $73,300, making a total of $512,800. The district is largely a sheep raising territory, and the people of the township have turned their attention quite extensively to grazing. Following is the acreage devoted to various crops in Cady township in 1908; Wheat, 59; corn, 362; oats, 1,128; barley, 282; rye, 11; flaxseed, 38; potatoes, 32; cultivated hay, 2,056. There are 1 acres of apples, with 22 bearing trees.

Cylon Township

Cylon is one of the northern tier of the St. Croix County townships, bounded by Polk County and Stanton, Erin, Emerald and Forest Townships. It is drained by the Willow River and also in part by the Hutton creek, upon which the village of Cylon is located. The Omaha road passes through the northern part and the Wisconsin Central through the southern part. It includes township 31, range 16, and has three villagesDeer Park, Cylon and Inlet. The first settlement of the township was made in 1855, the early settlers being Otto Natges, J. Smith, H. Fouks, E. Johnson, George Goodrich, S. W. Beel and J. Tomlinson. The township was organized in 1859. The supervisors were C. A. Hall, chairman John Sweet and John Gibson. A postoffice was established in 1861, Mrs. John B. Gibson being the postmistress. It is a rich and populous township and was originally timber and prairie land. The township contains 23,186 acres, having an average value of $23.23 an acre. There are 425 horses valued at $25,500; 1,600 neat cattle, valued at $22,400; 600 sheep and lambs, valued at $1,800, and 200 swine, valued at $1,000; total value of real estate is $588,400, of personal property $109,300, making a total of $697,700. Following is the acreage devoted to various crops in Cylon township in 1908: Wheat, 71; corn, 411; oats, 2,101; barley, 535; rye, 82; flaxseed, 115; potatoes, 44; cultivated hay, 1,401. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)  

Deer Park Village

Deer Park has a population of 294. It has German Lutheran and Norwegian Methodist churches, a creamery, a meat market, a livery barn, a blacksmith who deals in agricultural implements and another who does not, one furniture dealer who is an undertaker and also sells agricultural implements, one dealer in hardware who sells fuel and feed, four general stores, in one of which is sold meat; a branch of the New Richmond roller mills, and the Interstate Lumber Company, a branch of the Stillwater Company.

The State Bank of Deer Park, Wis., was incorporated June 5, 1905, with a paid up capital of $10,000. The incorporators were: W. E. Webster, George A. Fouks, John Sakrison and Ed Sakrison, which comprise the present officers and board of directors. The officers are: W. E. Webster, president; George A. Fouks, vice-president; John Sakrison, cashier, and Ed Sakrison, assistant cashier. Their statement July 15, 1908, shows in surplus and undivided profits $5,131.18.