W. E. Canedy
comes of good old Vermont stock, being born in that state, October 6, 1850, a son of Milo and Mary (Raymond) Canedy. who moved to New York sate in the early days. W. E. received his early education in the public schools of New York, after which he began farming in Oswego county, in that sate. In 1877, he came to Wisconsin and settled in Hammond Township, digging wells for two years. He then went to Pipe Stone city, Minn., remaining another two years. He subsequently returned to St. Croix County and took up his residence in Springfield township, where he has since remained. He bought 160 acres and now has 100 of this under the plow. Mr. Canedy was one of the first settlers of this locality, and in neighborly spirit he gave his services and assistance to men who are now prosperous farmers in this vicinity, but who at that time were struggling pioneers. Mr. Canedy cleared his place and broke the land, not a tree having been cut on the farm when he took possession of it. He now does general farming, his place being equipped with all the latest improvements and modern machinery, including a gasoline engine for pumping water, grinding feed, etc. He owns a large number of cattle and conducts an extensive line of dairying. As he looks over his rich acres, Mr. Canedy often thinks of those early days when he killed deer and wild cats on his farm, and heard the howling of wolves on the hillsides. Mr. Canedy was married March 12, 1868, to Emma M. Baker, daughter of James A. and Nancy (Brownell) Baker, of Oswego county, New York. This union was blessed with one son, James E. He married Laura Cuturia, and has three children: Ellamae, born February 13, 1896; Adry B., born June 13, 1900, and Isabella, born February 23, 1905. Mrs. W. E. Canedy died June 1, 1903, greatly mourned by all who knew her. James has always lived at home and now assists his father in running the farm. Mr. Canedy is an independent voter and has served as chairman of the township.
He has also been a member of the side board. His name is highly regarded, and he is noted as a good neighbor and able farmer. The family attends the Methodist church. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Father Eugene Caron
is a typical young village priest, loved by the members of his parish and revered and respected by the members of other denominations. He has fought his own way in the world, and has now won a position where the responsibilities are such that they are usually given to a much older and more experienced man. The success that he has achieved and the friends that he has made are entirely due to his hard work, his winning personality, and above all, his devotion to the cause to which he has consecrated his life Father Caron was born in Kankakee county, Illinois, in December 1879, a son of George and Georgiana (Fraser) Caron, who were of French-Canadian extraction. They went to Kankakee in the early days and continued farming there until the time of their death. Father Caron attended the primary schools of Kankakee and later entered St. Viateurs college at Bourbonnais, Ill., where he finished in 1902. He studied one year at the St. Francis seminary at Milwaukee, Wis., and then took a three years theological course at the Grand Seminary at Montreal, Canada. The consummation of his efforts was realized June 24, 1906, when he was ordained a priest of God, by the Right Rev. A. F. Schinner, D. D, at Superior, Wis. During his studies Father Caron had to work his own way through the various schools, he being left an orphan at an early age. Before entering college he worked for a time in a drug store in Chicago, for the purpose of raising funds to help him in obtaining the education that he so much desired. His first parish was at Bruce, Wis., where he was pastor of St. Marys church and its dependent missions. One year later he took charge of St. Anns Roman Catholic church at Somerset, St. Croix county, Wis., a position that has never before been give to so young a man. The parish consists of about 200 families. Father Caron is a man of scholarly attainments and at the same time is progressive and well abreast of the trend of modern thought. In the pulpit he is eloquent and in his intimate parish work he is a wise counselor and sympathetic friend. His work in the parish has been blessed with success, and the field has prospered under his pastorate. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Carl Carow is a native of Germany, born December 29, 1855, son of Ludwig and Wilhelime Carow. His parents came to the United States in 1876 and settled in Juneau, Dodge county, Wis., where the father carried on farming operations. Carl attended the common schools of Germany and upon coming to America worked on the farm with his father. He continued this business until 1902, when he came to St. Croix county and settled on his present fine farm, about seven miles north of New Richmond, and situated in Stanton township. The place consists of 200 highly improved acres. The farm was in first-class condition when he bought it, and even at that time was among the finest farms in the township. Mr. Carow, however, has made many improvements and has remodeled and added to the buildings until today he has a farm that any man might well be proud to own. He raises a general crop, paying quite a little attention to the breeding of a fine quality of Poland-China hogs. Mr. Carow was married in 1883 to Augusta Bethke, by whom he has seven children: Herman, Edward, Paul, Ludwig, Emma, Martha and Hilda, all of whom are a credit to the training of their parents. A staunch Democrat in politics, Mr. Carow has nevertheless never sought public office. He is devoted to his family and to his farm, and his time is well filled in tilling his fertile acres. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and attends the Lutheran church. All that he has he has earned by hard work, and he well deserves all the success that has come to him. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Cornelius Carr was born in Canada in 1856, son of Patrick and Mary (Foley) Carr, of Ireland. The parents came to Canada in the early days, where the father farmed until 1865, when he came to this state and settled in Stanton township, where his son, Cornelius Carr, still resides. The father was killed by the blowing over of a load of hay. The ground was frozen and as he fell he broke his neck. The mother is still living at the ripe old age of seventy-nine years.
Cornelius Carr received a common school education and then started work on the farm with his father. He thoroughly mastered all the details of the work, and upon his fathers sad death he took up the work and carried it on with great success. He owns 200 acres of rich and well-developed land. Of this, 120 acres are in Stanton Township, forty in Cylon and forty in Polk County. Upon these acres he does a general farming. Mr. Carr was married in 1907 to Mary Ellen Toomey, of Chicago, formerly of Ohio. He is a Democrat, but has never sought public office, preferring rather to devote his time to the work on the farm. He is an attendant of the Catholic Church at Stanton. With his father he made all the improvements on the farm and erected the buildings. He is honest and upright and highly regarded by all who know him as a hard working, industrious citizen. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Fred J. Carr was born in New Lisbon, Wis., March 13, 1869, and graduated at the Sioux Falls high school in 1887 and in 1888 graduated from the Forestville Academy, Forestville, N. Y. In 1889 he attended Phillips Exter Academy, Exeter, N. H., and entered Harvard University in 1900. After two years he leftHarvard to engage in the banking business and came to Hammond, Wis., in 1892, and organized the Bank of Hammond. On April 21, 1892, Fred J. Carr was married to Ada Couch Elwell, of Brooklyn, N. Y. Mr. Carr served as cashier of the Bank of Hammond for five years to 1897, when he resigned to become vice-president and later cashier of the Bank of Hudson, Wis. Fred J. Carr has been identified with the banking business of the St. Croix valley, having been a stockholder and director of other banks at Baldwin, Clear Lake and River Falls, and for a time serving as president of the First National Bank of River Falls. Mr. Carr also served as president of the Wisconsin Bankers Association in 1907, and the same year was one of the vice-presidents of the American Bankers Association. Mr. Carr is the present cashier of the Bank of Hudson. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Willard P. Carr. The Carr family was among the very early settlers of Massachusetts and for several generations resided at Ashfield, Franklin County, where Willard P. Carr was born, August 4, 1834. In the early fifties Willard P. Carr settled at New Lisbon, Wis., where he engaged in the mercantile business for twenty-five years, and was here married to Carrie Sophia Ramsey, on August 9, 1858. She was born at Waterloo, Wis., July 22, 1843. In the early eighties he removed to South Dakota and was postmaster of Sioux Falls during Clevelands first administration. In 1892 Willard P. Carr and N. B. Bailey organized the Farmers & Merchants State Bank, of River Falls, Wis., and from 1892 up to shortly before his death Mr. Carr resided at River Falls as president of the bank. His death occurred at River Falls on October 10, 1899. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
was born in Switzerland, June 29, 1865. His parents, Joseph and Agnes Casanora, still reside in that country. In 1880, at the age of fifteen years, Christ came to Stillwater, Minn. In 1896 he and his brother, Joseph, bought a brewery from George Reedher, of Hudson, Wis., which was destroyed by fire. In 1898 it was rebuilt. In 1908 the brothers added a bottling plant to their concern and the firm now enjoys a satisfactory business. Mr. Casanora married, October 27, 1890, Miss Post, a native of Germany, and they have three childrenMary C., Frank and Joseph A. The brother, Joseph, who is a partner in the business, was born in Switzerland, May 16, 1870. He married Catherine, a daughter of Robert Karros, of Hudson, and the following children were born: Agnes, Catherine, John and Leonard. Both the brothers are rising young men who have attained success by their own efforts, and are well thought of by their friends. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
is a native of Illinois, born June 25, 2852, son of Richard and Ellen Caughlin, who were born in Cork county, Ireland, and afterward immigrated to New York city. Their next location was in the state of Illinois, subsequent to which they came to Erin township, Wisconsin, in 1856, purchased eighty acres, broke all the land and made improvements. The father helped to organize the first school in District No. 4, Erin Township, and had the honor of being the first clerk of the district. For a time he did a general agricultural business, also lumbering and logging on the Menominee River. In June 1872, he sold this farm of eighty acres and purchased 200 acres in another section of the same township, breaking the land and making general improvements as on the previous farm. He raised general crops and live stock, continuing in this business until his death, November 1, 1873. The mother died July 1, 1905. John received his education in the common schools of Erin, having first attended a flat roofed schoolhouse made of logs, which the settlers erected in the early days for a place where their children might receive instruction. After leaving school he took up lumbering for several years. In 1882 he took possession of the old homestead left to him by his father. He now lives upon this place and does general farming. Mr. Caughlin is an independent voter. He has been clerk of school board fifteen years, member of the school board for some time and road commissioner. He is a popular member of the Modern Woodmen and attends the Catholic Church. In 1882, Mr. Caughlin was married to Kate Ward, daughter of Owen and Alice Ward, prosperous farmers of Erin township, both now deceased. This union has been blessed with six children: Anna is a teacher in the Training school at St. Croix Falls, Polk county, Wis.; Nellie is an instructor in the High school at Clear Lake, Polk county, Wis.; Katherine is a member of the faculty of the High school at Amery, Polk county, Wis.; Richard is a graduate of the High school at New Richmond, Wis.; Owen is still a student at that school, and Willie, the baby of the family, is at home. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
F. G. Cave
was born in Wood county, Ohio, on the 29th
day of December 1869, and is the son of Samuel and Caroline Cave. Samuel Cave died when his son was an infant and young Cave came to Wisconsin with his mother in 1869. For a short time he lived with his mother in the town of Rush River. Later he located in Pleasant Valley, remaining there with his mother until he was eighteen, receiving his education in the public schools. From the time he was eighteen until he reached twenty-five he farmed it on his own account, then came to Hammond in 1888. Two years later he started a livery stable and has conducted the business ever since. He was married in 1888 to Mary Carter, a daughter of one of Wisconsins original families. Mr. and Mrs. Cave have two children, Howard K. and Clifford G. Mr. Cave is a Republican in politics, so far as national questions are concerned, but in local and county matters he votes for the man he deems best qualified to fill office, irrespective of party affiliations. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. His business has given him a wide acquaintance with the traveling fraternity, among whom he has a reputation for being always accommodating and willing to please. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Arthur E. Chapman was born at Hudson, St. Croix County, Wis., August 30, 1863. He was educated at the district schools of Troy township and the State Normal at River Falls. He is a son of Lyman N. and Mary (Scott) Chapman, the former a native of Maine and the latter of Pennsylvania. His father came to Wisconsin in 1858 and located at Hudson, Wis. He was a wagonmaker and followed that trade at Hudson until his marriage. In 1862 he purchased a farm in Troy township, St. Croix county, which had previously belonged to his father-in-law. This farm consisted of some 320 acres, but he was the owner of about 600 acres, and here he lived until within about eight years of his death. He moved to River Falls, Wis., and led a retired life and died in 1902, at the age of seventy-one years. His widow is still living at her residence in River Falls. She is the mother of nine children, eight of whom survive. Arthur E. is the oldest of the children. Our subject remained on the old home farm until he was twenty-five years of age. He then married and purchased 150 acres of the Day farm, which his father owned. This he farmed for some time and then sold it and bought another place in this vicinity and farmed it until he moved to River Falls, about 1900. He took up the business of a plumber and is located on South Main Street. He is one of the trustees of the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics he is a Republican. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Chapman married Minnie White, June 6, 1888. She was born in River Falls township, Pierce county, and a daughter of Fletcher and Catherine (Taylor) White. Her father was a farmer and an early settler of Pierce county. Mrs. Chapman was educated in the district schools and the State Normal. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Six children have been born to Mr. And Mrs. Chapman in the order named: Ethrel, Lloyd, Mabel, Floy, Lola and Harvey. The mother of Mr. Chapman was born April 1, 1837. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", vol. 1, published in 1909)
Frank P. Chapman, lawyer, New Richmond; was born in Starks, Somerset Co., Maine, Sept. 13, 1846; went to sea at 13 years of age. Was one of four brothers who served in the war of the rebellion. Entered the service at 14 in Co. F, 14th Maine V. I.; was in several engagements and was in the battle of Baton Rouge, and was mentioned in the general orders for bravery at that engagement. Was wounded, and returned home for a time; re-enlisted in Co. K, 2nd Maine V. C. Was promoted; participated in several battles; was in the Red River expedition; was captured by the enemy near Marianna, Fla., and was recaptured while on his way to Andersonville; served till the close of the war and was honorably discharged. Received Gov. Chamberlain's testimonial for faithful service. Went to Lowell, Mass., and attended Commercial College; graduated at Eaton School. Taught high school in New Portland, Maine. Came to Wisconsin in the spring of 1870, and was principal of the New Richmond School three years; Chairman of the Board of Supervisors of the town of Star Prairie in 1871; Superintendent of Schools for St. Croix Co. for two terms, from 1874 to 1878. Was admitted to the bar in 1873; has been Village Attorney since 1878. Was President of the village in 1880. Is now actively engaged in the practice of his profession.
(Taken from "History of Northern Wisconsin", pub. 1881)
Warren D. Chapman served in Company H of the famous Thirteenth New York Heavy Artillery during the War of the Rebellion. He was born in Champlain, Clinton County, N.Y., May 7, 1843, son of Jason L. and Nancy (Hitchcock) Chapman. Jason L. Chapman was a well-known and able New York attorney. Warren D. Chapman spent his early life in the Empire State, receiving a good common school education. In 1863 he enlisted and served in the Army of the James. He was mustered out in 1865. After the war Mr. Chapman took up his profession of making paper, working in several of the eastern states. Three years of this time were spent in Massachusetts. In 1877 he came to St. Croix County and for four years he taught school in Burkhardt. Later he took up 120 acres of land, which he grubbed and broke, making all improvements. He was married in 1863 to Electa Mooers, who was also from Champlain, N.Y. They have had seven children: Maude A.; I. Walter, of Minneapolis; Nancy, deceased; Helen L., and Willie C., deceased; Carson W., of Hudson, and Aggie A. Mr. Chapman is a Republican, and has served as town clerk. He is also a member of the Masonic fraternity. Stock buying has occupied more or less of the attention of Mr. Chapman throughout his life. His amusing stories of experiences in this line during the early days are well worth listening to and verify his claims that he has had more fun trading than any other man in the county has. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", vol. 1, published in 1909)
George W. Chinnock, Jr.,
was born on the Chinnock homestead in Troy township, St. Croix county, Wisconsin, on October 25, 1868, his father being George W. Chinnock, now residing in the town of River Falls and president of the Farmers and Merchants State bank at that place. The subject of this sketch was educated in the public schools of Troy Township and the State Normal school at River Falls. He then entered the Red Wing Business College, at Red Wing, Minn., where he was graduated and entered the machinery business in River Falls, which he conducted two years, then removing to Minneapolis, where he resided for two years. In 1891 Mr. Chinnock married May Gibbs, of River Falls, and they are the parents of two boys: Stanley and Dwight Chinnock. Mr. Chinnnock has been engaged in conducting the old homestead, where he was born, ever since his return from Minneapolis. He has always evinced a keen interest in public affairs in Troy township and St. Croix county, and is most prominent and influential in shaping and directing public sentiment, and gives freely of his time and means in laboring for the best welfare of the community with out hope or thought of reward. He has been a delegate to many of the conventions of the Republican Party of recent years, but has never sought office. He has, however, been selected by the citizens of Troy township to serve as assessor, which position he occupied for two years, passing from that to township clerk, which he retained for six consecutive years, and has been for the past three years chairman of the Troy township board, which place he still occupies. Mr. Chinnock is a communicant of the Methodist Episcopal Church and is a member of the Masonic order and the Modern Woodmen of America.
Freeman Chinnock was born in Brookville, St. Croix County, Wis., in September, 1858, son of James H. and Eleanor (Wilhelm) Chinnock. James H. came to America from Somersetshire, England, in 1844, and settled at Bloomfield, Ohio, where he married Eleanor Wilhelm. After living there for several years he moved to Pennsylvania, thence to Brookville, Wis., and from there to Pierce county, Wis., where he lived until his death, May 17, 1892. Freeman was educated in the Glass Valley schools and has followed the occupation of farming ever since. He married Miss Ellen Kelly of Kinnickinnic Township, a daughter of Patrick and Nancy Kelly. Mrs. Ellen Kelly Chinnock was born March 28, 1853. Her father was born in 1832 and died September 5, 1900. Her mother was born in 1827 and died in 1899. Mr. Chinnock is an active member of the Democratic Party of St. Croix County, but has never accepted any political positions in its ranks. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. His farm in Troy Township embraces 120 acres, most of which is under cultivation.
John A. Chinnock was born in Warren, Trumbull county, Ohio, on March 23, 1850, and was brought to St. Croix county by his parents when a year old. He received his early education in the city schools of Hudson and then attended classes at Hinckley institute in River Falls until twenty years of age. He then engaged in farm work during the summer of 1870, and rented the farm from his employer the following year. In 1872 Mr. Chinnock leased a farm near the city of Hudson, which he conducted for one year. In 1874 Mr. Chinnock purchased 120 acres in section 14, township 28, range 19, which he still owns. In 1885 he bought another farm of 160 acres in sections 21 and 22, of which he is still possessed. June 1, 1881, witnessed the marriage of our subject to Ella Mapes, of Kinnickinnic township. They are the parents of two daughters, one of whom is now Mrs. Mabel Miller of Golden, Colo., and Mrs. Elva E. Reid, of Hot Springs, Ark. Mr. Chinnock has been, during his long residence in St. Croix County, one of the most prominent Republicans of Troy Township and has been its representative on the floor of many congressional, senatorial and judicial conventions during the past twenty years. In local affairs Mr. Chinnock has been public spirited at all times and has labored tirelessly for the betterment of the community. He has been called upon by his neighbors to serve them in many ways. He was chairman of the Troy Township board for a number of years, and was selected as the chairman of the county board for one term. The name of John A. Chinnock will be found among the list of charter members of the Old Settlers Association, and he has held the office of secretary for several years, and which he still holds. He is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons and also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
Mr. Chinnock has found time from his public and private business to take a deep interest in historical matters relating to many valuable items of historic interest and his paper, read before the Old Settlers Club at its annual meeting in New Richmond, in 1900, attracted much attention and was widely published. He was nominated September 1, 1908, at the Republican primaries as a member of the assembly of St. Croix County.
Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Rev. Ezra Porter Chittenden. Born in Westbrook, Conn., 1851. Descended from the pioneers of the Puritan colony. Is a son of Rev. Albert Chittenden. He removed to Ripon in 1859. Remained until 1874, completing his course there that year. He studied theology at Yale College, spending one year with the church in Vermont; then went to Germany, and completed his education at the university in Borm. Returning, he came to New Richmond and took charge of the First Congregational Church in 1879, where he has since been. His grandfather was Cornelius Chittenden, an acquaintance of George Washington. He was a farmer and lived on Horse Hill, an eminence overlooking Long Island for a distance of three miles, where the subject of this sketch was born. The grandfather died at the age of 94 years. Mr. Cs father married Patience Lorrine Jones, of Westbrook, Conn., to whom eight children were born, all now living, two sons clergymen, two lawyers, and one a merchant. When young, he studied for the Methodist ministry. During the anti-slavery movement, seceded from the church, and allied himself with the Wesley Methodist Church, of which he was Pastor for many years. In 1859, he changed his residence to Ripon, Wis., taking all his family excepting one son, who was then studying in Heidelberg, Germany. There being no Wesley Church in Ripon, he joined the Congregational Church. He bought a frm in the suburbs of Ripon, educating his children at the college there. Sold his estate in 1875, moving to Boulder, Colo., where he died. His son, Rev. A. J. Chittenden, took his place, and served for five years. Began attending college at Ripon at sixteen years of age, working vacations upon the farm, until twenty, when he began attending regularly. He graduated a classical student. He entered Yale Seminary in 1874. In the summer of 1875, was employed by the Maine Home Missionary Society doing work in Markesan. In 1876, was licensed to preach by the New Haven East Association for four years. Finished his studies successfully, and delivered an oration on the Peshito version of the New Testament, he having taken studies in Syriac, which enabled him to do it. He supplied a church in Vermont, and received a call from Barton Landing, and Brownington. Was ordained at Barton Landing Aug. 29, 1877. In August, 1878, preached his farewell sermon, and sailed for Glassgow from New York Sept. 14, 1878. He went to Borm on the Rhine, on the 11th of October, where he remained ten months, studying German literature and philosophy. He returned to New York on the 10th of October, 1879.
(Taken from History of Northern Wisconsin, pub. 1881)
Emilus Prescott Cole
was born in Chenango county, New York, March 29, 1822, and has lived in the state of Wisconsin ever since twenty years of age. His father, Ira Cole, came to Walworth county, Wisconsin, in 1843, and with Emilus purchased a farm near Portland. During the next ten years he worked on adjoining farms, and on June 10, 1852, married Miss Caroline B. Southworth, of Walworth county, Wisconsin. Three children resulted from the union, two of whom, Mrs. Oresta S. Robinson and Edwin P. Cole, are living. E. P. Cole, Sr., came to St. Croix county, Wisconsin, in 1865, settling on his present farm in section 16, of Kinnickinnic township, where he has since resided, and belongs to the Republican party. He held the office of township assessor for fourteen consecutive years. Edwin P. Cole, Jr., was born in Dodge county, Wisconsin, April 30, 1864, and was brought to St. Croix county by his parents when sixteen months old. He received his education in the public schools of Kinnickinnic Township, and at the State Normal school at River Falls, Wis. After leaving school, remained at home until attaining his majority, when he removed to Mendota, Wis., where he was employed by the state for some time in connection with the State hospital at that place. He resigned to return home, where he has since resided. Mr. Cole was married on February 22, 1898, to Mary E. Carley, a daughter of George Carley, of River Falls, Wis., and they are the parents of one daughter, Eva. He is a stockholder in the American Society of Equity Elevator Company, of River Falls, and has held the position of school treasurer for eighteen years. He is a member of the Congregational church. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
now deceased, was for many years one of the foremost citizens of Hudson, and many history of this valley would be incomplete without an extended notice of his character and services. He was born in Owasco, Cayuga county, N. Y., December 19, 1812, a son of Elkanah and Sarah (Greene) Comstock. His father was a Baptist clergyman, who in 1824 was appointed by the Baptist convention of New York to preach in Michigan, being the first minister of that denomination to preach in that state. His mother was a niece of Gen. Nathaniel Greene, one of the foremost officers of the patriot armies during the Revolution. John Comstock attended the public schools in New York until his twelfth year, when he came westward with his parents, completing his education in Pontiac, Mich. From his earliest days young John displayed a marked talent for mechanics, and his spare moments were all spent in "tinkering" with machinery of his own contrivance. His parents favored this inclination and when he was old enough fulfilled his desires by apprenticing him to a carpenter and cabinet maker for three years. During this apprenticeship he became fully versed in construction, and his genius in this direction had an opportunity for wide expansion. He continued in this trade until 1843, Mr. Comstock was elected president, holding that office until January 1867, when he resigned, his successor being Alfred Goss. In 1870 Mr. Comstock was again elected president, continuing in that capacity until his lamented death, which occurred January 3, 1890. Politically, Mr. Comstock was a staunch Republican and served his party in public office on several occasions, notably as mayor of Hudson two terms and member of the general assembly one term. He was active in church and charitable work, and early in life became connected with the Presbyterian Church. Later he adopted the views of the Baptist denomination, but never formally united with that body. October 15, 1841, Mr. Comstock was united in marriage to Mrs. Lydia F. Seymour, a daughter of Hon. Theodore Foster, of Rhode Island, a prominent attorney and for thirteen years a member of the United States senate. The following tribute by Judge Herman L. Humphrey, a personal friend of Mr. Comstock, ably sums up the life, work and character of that distinguished gentleman: "Hon. John Comstock was not only a very able man, but was also possessed of varied abilities. Possessing excellent judgment, his advice was sought in all departments of business. The merchant, the farmer, the banker, the lawyer, the contractor, the projector of railroads and other large enterprises sought his views and placed much reliance upon his judgment. Slow and deliberate in all matters of moment, when his conclusion was reached it stood as his judgment and seldom, if ever, did he have reason to modify or change it. He was a successful business man, far sighted, energetic and unswerving. His benefactions will never be known; his liberality and large heartedness were proverbial. There was no enterprise that looked to advancement in his city that did not command his attention, and if necessary his time and his money. He never deviated from the path of duty and could not bear with patience those who did. To young men he was ever ready to give counsel and to give aid if needed and they merited it. Organizing the First National Bank in 1863, he was its president with the exception of two years to the time of his death, and today it is numbered among the most substantial in the country. As his impress is left on that institution, so did he leave his impress on every undertaking with which he was connected. None ever failed; all were highly successful. This can be said of but few men. Mr. Comstock possessed rare abilities, unnumbered virtues, and his adopted city reveres his memory and holds him in sacred remembrance as her mayor, representative, citizen and friend. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Ernest E. Conner, chairman of the township of Baldwin, was born in Elgin, Kane county, Illinois, January 5, 1870, son of Edward and Lucy (Freeborn) Conner, natives of Steuben county, New York, who located in Kane county, Illinois, in 1864. In that county they engaged in dairying until 1871, when they came to this locality and purchased 120 acres in Eau Galle township, which they broke and improved, erecting a house and outbuildings and carrying on a general farming business until 1891, making a specialty of keeping bees and sheep. Selling out to their son, they moved to Woodville, this township, where the father worked on the railroad one year for D. M. Sabin. He then moved to Hammond, this state, and engaged in the lumber business very successfully for some years. He died in July 1899, his wife having passed away at Woodvill, November 1, 1895. Ernest E. received his education in the public schools of Eau Galle and Baldwin and at the River Falls normal school. He then farmed with his father until 1891, when he bought the homestead at Eau Galle and continued until 1898, when he purchased the F. L. Wilford farm at Baldwin. The farm consists of 110 acres, and under Mr. Conners ownership has been beautified and improved. Among other additions, he has erected a new barn. Upon this farm he has successfully carried on a general farming industry, raising good crops and breeding blooded stock, hogs, fowls and horses. Mr. Conner was married, December 21, 1891, to Jessie, the daughter of E. H. and Minnie (Keltz) Wilford, of Baldwin, Wis. Her parents went to Kansas many years ago, and in 1881 came to Baldwin, where the father engaged in the meat business until 1906, when he sold out to his brother. He is now supervisor of assessment of St. Croix county, still making his headquarters at Baldwin. Mr. and Mrs. Conner have three children: Cora, born February 1, 1893; Clifford, born December 20, 1894, and Forrest, born April 12, 1901. The subject of this sketch was for four years side supervisor of the town board of Eau Galle during his residence in that township. He has been on the sideboard of Baldwin, and is now chairman of the town board, having ably served for two years. He is also clerk of school district No. 4, having served for a number of years. He is a republican in politics, attends the Methodist Episcopal Church and affiliates with the Baldwin camp, No. 3039, Modern Woodmen of America. He is a man of sincere convictions and untiring energy, and whether working for the township or for himself he uses the best business ability and judgment, and has been as successful in township affairs as he has been in running his own farm. He is a thorough reader and keeps well informed on all current topics. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
David Cushing, for over twenty years chairman of the township of Cady, is a native of Ireland, born Mach 14, 1844, son of James and Julia (Sheehan) Cushing. The mother died in the old country and the father came to America in 1867, settling in St. Croix County, where he continued farming until the time of his death. David came to Canada in 1861 and to the United States in 1863. He spent two years in Eau Claire county, Wisconsin, in lumbering, and located in St. Croix County in 1865. He homesteaded eighty acres of land in Cady township and purchased eighty acres, all of which he still owns. Of this eighty acres are under cultivation. Upon these acres he carries on general farming. Mr. Cushing remembers the early days when horses were almost entirely unknown in this locality and when he not only drove to church with a pair of oxen, but also did a larger part of his work with them. With the assistance of these oxen he broke the land and has since made many improvements. Mr. Cushing was married in 1868 to Susanna Riley, daughter of Hugh and Julia (McKernan) Riley. She died in 1866, leaving seven childrenJulia, Mary, Elizabeth (deceased), Bridget, John, David and Kate. He was married again, his second wife being Annie OBrien, daughter of Patrick and Mary (Pheny) Deowd, by whom he has four childrenJames, Ethel, Robert and Leonard. He is a member of the Catholic Church and an adherent of the Democratic party. He is a public-spirited man, a thorough believer in education and an advocate of every movement that tends to the betterment of the township. His services as chairman have been of a high degree of excellence, and his neighbors declare that they are going to keep him in that position as long as he is willing to stay. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)