John C. Dahl was born in Norway, August 24, 1866, son of Christian and Helen Dahl, natives of Norway, who came to the United States in 1887 and settled in Dane county, Wisconsin. John C. received his education in his native country and came to America in 1883, locating in Dane county, Wisconsin, engaging in raising tobacco. In 1890 he came to Amery village and engaged in lumbering and sawmilling until 1901, when he opened up a store, handling general merchandise. This business he has followed ever since, building up a fine trade, and securing the confidence of the people with whom he has business dealings. At the present time he has a partner, the store being carried on under the name of Dahl and Olson. Mr. Dahl is independent in politics and attends the Norwegian Lutheran church. Christian Dahl, father of John C., was born August 12, 1815, and died January 6, 1896. His wife was born February 2, 1842, and is still living, making her home with the subject of this sketch. They had two children, aside from John C.: Sophia was born December 13, 1874, and married B. Christenson, to whom she has borne the following seven children; Clarence H., Cora A., Sophia B., Isabelle, Manley, Rudolph and Harris; Hulda is married, and has one child, Hazel. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", vol 2, published in 1909)
(From the 1914 "Farmers Directory" of St. Croix County):
Glenwood Township: Dahl, Andrew, R1, sec 33, ac 60, wf Karin, ch Fred, Gustave, Annie, Bernt, Louis, (in the county 22 years).
Rush River Township (Baldwin Post Office): Dahl, Nels, R4, sec 24, ac 80, sec 22, ac 80, wf Emma, ch John, Bertha (in the county 26 years).
Cady Township: Dahl, Peter O., R1, sec 7, ac 120, owns in sec 6, ac 40, brothers John, Alfred, Emil, sister Marie, (in the county 15).
Dahl, Henry, R1, sec 9, ac 160, sec 10, ac 40, wf Winnefred, ch Martin, Mary, Hilda, Helen, Clara, Laura, (in the county 15 years).
A. R. Dailey is another of those descendants from the early pioneers, who have followed in their fathers footsteps. He was born in Hudson, in August, 1861, the son of Guy and Mary (Cook) Dailey, who settled in North Hudson on a farm after coming from Canada in 1850. Guy Dailey held a number of town offices and was a member of the assembly of 1876-1877. Both he and his wife died in Hudson Township. A. R. Dailey received an excellent education in the public and high schools of Hudson, then took up farming. He owns 240 acres, 225 of which are highly improved, largely the result of his own efforts. He is said to have one of the finest places in Hudson Township, and strangers never fail to notice its pretty appearance. He carries on a general farming, and deals in cattle, buying and shipping large quantities of stock of all descriptions. For some time he conducted a dairy business. Mr. Dailey is a member of the I. O. O. F. and the A. S. of E. and has served as town clerk. In 1889 he married Minnie, daughter of Harry and Lucy Oaks. The sorrow of Mr. and Mrs. Daileys lives was the loss of their only son, Harry, a bright little chap of fourteen years. Their spacious house is not far from the city of Hudson, and both the house and the other buildings are models of what farm buildings should be like. Mr. Dailey takes great pride in his farm and in the quality of his stock. His aim is to have one of the best-kept farms in the county and in this he is succeeding wonderfully well. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Edwin Dailey is spending his declining years at Hudson after an active life that has been both busy and successful. He was born in Canada, October 8, 1839, a son of William and Mercy (Bernhardt) Dailey. His father was born in Ireland and came to Canada in 1818, being a cabinet maker. He moved to Hudson in 1849 and began to develop 160 acres of government land. He assisted in building the first sawmill in Hudson. Two years after settling here he purchased a house and lot in Hudson and brought his family from Canada. In 1852 he built a cabinet shop, where he worked until his death in 1877. He was justice of the peace and member of the school board. His wife was a native of New York State. Edward attended the Academy at River Falls, in addition to the common schools of the township. Later he took up lumbering in the woods. In 1870 he bought 120 acres of land. Selling this, he bought 257 acres. Still later he sold this and bought 200 acres in Hudson Township, four miles east of the city. He broke and improved all these pieces of land. His chief industry has been that of dairying. He raised shorthorn and Holstein cattle, also Poland China hogs and Barred Plymouth Rock fowls. Mr. Dailey was married, November 21, 1878, to Annie, daughter of Thomas and Annie (Stuart) Johnson. She died three years later. Her husband continued farming until 1903, when he went to live with his son, Guy E. Dailey, born 1882, and married to Perle Petrr. Mr. Guy E. Dailey owns a lot and comfortable house on Fourth Street, Hudson City. Mr. Dailey was chairman of the town three years; also served on the sideboard and school board. He is a Democrat and a member of Hudson Lodge, No. 85, I. O. O. F. The family faith is that of the Episcopal Church. Throughout life Mr. Dailey has been a strong believer in the advancement of education, and he supplemented his own schooling with wide reading in after life. He is now reaping a well-deserved reward of years of hard and faithful toil. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Jacob Dailey, for thirty years treasurer, school director and road overseer of the town of Hudson, was born on the 18th day of November 1833, in Canada. He is the son of William and Mercy (Barnhart) Dailey, the former of whom was born in County Cork, Ireland, and the latter in New York State. William Dailey, a cabinetmaker, came to Canada in the early days. In 1849 he settled in Hudson Township on a piece of government land. His cabinet making proved a success here and inn 1851 he brought his family to Hudson. Five of his eleven children are still alive. Jacob Dailey was educated in the common schools of Canada. After his arrival in this state he started farming upon eighty acres of school land that he took up in 1853. In more than a half-century that has passed since then he has spent a large part of his life in bringing the farm to its present state of perfection. When he was younger he worked for a time on the St. Croix River and also in the woods. Mr. Dailey learned his fathers trade, but has never worked extensively at it. He was married, August 16, 1859, to Martha Kelley, daughter of John and Frances (Johnston) Kelley. Mr. Kelley was a native of Ireland, and Mrs. Kelley was born in Canada. They came to this country at the same time as the Dailey family and continued farming until the time of their death. Mr. Dailey votes the Democratic ticket. His family of nine children have all been given a liberal education. They are: Alice, a trained nurse, married to R. E. Hodgin, of Hudson; Anna, married to Harry Jones, of Hudson; Flora, deceased; Francis, who is Mrs. Ira Chapman, of Minneapolis; Charlotte, who is Mrs. J. F. Kinne, of New Richmond; Janette, a stenographer at St. Paul; Kate, a clerk, and Jessie, a stenographer, both at Minneapolis. Mr. Daileys long term of office has kept him in close touch with the progress of events, and few men are better informed than he on the history of the growth of the town. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Oscar F. Davis
has received honors such as have fallen to the lot of but few men in this section of the country and his career includes successful and distinguished achievement as an educator, clergyman and business man. He was born in Cabot, Washington county, Vermont, March 21, 1861, of Puritan ancestry. His parents, Salmon and Lucy (Luther) Davis, were well-to-do and broad-minded farmers of Vermont. They owned 360 acres of the rich Green Mountain land and raised fine Vermont horses. Salmon Davis was a schoolteacher in his early days and also superintendent of schools. As first selectman he had the confidence and esteem of the townsmen whom he served. His life came to an end in June 1907, at his home in Corinth, Vt.
Oscars education was stared in the public schools and supplemented by the training of Dr. Spauldings academy at Barre, Washington county, Vermont. In 1880 he entered the University of Vermont, at Brulington, that state, but was forced to abandon this effort on account of illness. As a youth of fifteen he started teaching school in one of the hard school in the country districts. The success he achieved there under difficult conditions stood him in good stead when upon leaving college he was engaged to teach for one year in the high school at Chester, Vt. His next position was that of principal of the high school at Bellows Falls, Vt., at that time one of the largest high schools of that state. Following his high school work he was principal for four years of the McCollom institute, one of the older New England academies, at Mount Vernon, N. H. While there he studied for the ministry, and being licensed to preach, he supplied the pulpit of the Presbyterian Church at New Boston, N. H., for a time. In 1891 his abilities attracted the attention of the New West Education commission, and they endeavored to secure his services as the principal of an academy which they had established in Salt Lake City, Utah. An offer of $1,500 a year did not temp Mr. Davis away from his beloved New England, but when the committee offered $1,800 and wrote glowingly of the great opportunities for work and research at their academy Mr. Davis accepted. He remained in Salt Lake City until 1895, when he went back to New England and took the pulpit of a Congregational church at historic Plymouth, Mass. He was ordained and installed as pastor and served nearly three years.
Again his talents attracted notice and in the fall of 1897 he was prevailed upon to accept the position of principal of Gates college, Neligh, Neb. Curing his three years at Gates he acted as pastor of the Congregational church at Neligh one year. In 1900 the Congregational denomination of the state, which controlled both Gates and Doan colleges, in the same state, decided that two colleges in one commonwealth were not necessary. So Gates was reduced to rank of an academy, and Doane, which had preceded Gates in date of establishment, was retained as the higher institution. This caused Mr. Davis resignation, and he went to Chicago and took a course of lectures at Chicago University. For two years he supplied a church at Emmington, Ill. Then he was sent to New Richmond, Wis., for the purpose of occupying the pulpit of the Congregational church as a supply. He accepted the regular pastorate in August 1903, and served two years. During his stay in New Richmond he has been greatly honored. He is a member of the board of trustees of Northland College, Ashland, Wis., and of the state committee that looks after the Congregational schools in Wisconsin. He also enjoys the distinction of being one of the directors of the Elk Mound training school at Elk Mound, Wis.
Since his marriage Mr. Davis has retired from the active ministry and has devoted his time and attention to the management of the large department store in which his wife is interested, but he still finds time for active religious work, and his services as a supply preacher are greatly in demand. Both Mr. and Mrs. Davis are public spirited and progressive and they make the most not only of their talents but also of their means in promoting the best interests of the church and society. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
E. W. Dawley
, after attaining distinction in both military and civil life, is now quietly living in his beautiful residence at New Richmond, Wis., where he enjoys the honor and respect of the entire township. His parents, Nathaniel and Orafie (Williams) Dawley, like many of the early pioneers, were born in Massachusetts. The stories of the vast rich country to the westward then attracted them to Allegheny County, New York, where on the 12th
day of November 1830, their son E. W. was born. After living in New York State for some time the family located in New Richmond, Wis. Nathaniel bought forty acres, which he developed and improved. In 1867 he gave up farming and went to live with his son. Two years later he died.
E. W. Dawley was educated in the common schools of Chautauqua County, New York, and then learned the carpenters trade, which he has followed nearly all his life. In 1854 he moved to New Richmond. In 1858 he built a house on the corner of First Street, where he now resides. The same year, February 12, he married Isabelle Cameron, of New York State, who died September 29, 1859. Thus left a widower, he joined the Union army August 8, 1862, serving in Company A, Thirtieth Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteers. He enlisted again at Louisville, Ky., September 1, 1865, his first term having expired. Among his commanders were General Sully, Colonel Dill and Captains Harriman and Cox. Returning from the war, he again resumed his trade and Alnora McHenry, of New Richmond, Wis., became his wife, September 27, 1867. Their one child, Earl, graduated from the New Richmond high school. He married Lottis Ellis, of Glenwood, Wis.
Mr. Dawley was town treasurer in 1856-1857. For many years he served on the school board and occupied other important positions. He attends the Congregational church, votes the Republican ticket and belongs to New Richmond lodge, I. O. O. F., and B. J. Humphrey post, No. 216, G. A. R. In 1904 he gave up active business and retired. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Alfred Day, came to Hudson in 1851. Was widely known and fully identified with the interests of the community. He died suddenly, leaving a wife and six children, in November, 1880. He was born in Vermont in 1817, and was married in Hudson to Miss Medora Anderson. He was engaged in general merchandising and in the livery business. For six years he was County Treasurer, and held other positions. He gave the name of Hudson to his adopted residence.
(Taken from "History of Northern Wisconsin", published 1881)
Dr. George Dean
For Doc George Dean, longtime (33 years) New Richmond veterinary, the greatest progress which has been made during the last generation has been not the automobile, nor the airplane, nor even the splitting of the atom.
The greatest advance in civilization to his way of thinking, is a step of which few persons off the farm know. But to Doc Dean, whose vocation and avocation is farming, it is a monumental stroke of progress. It is testing for Bangs disease, technically for bacillus abortious, a preventative against spreading undulant fever among humans.
It is not unusual that Doc Deans interest should lie in such a field, for he was born and raised on a farm, took an early preference for physiology and biology over other high school studies and today owns two of the finest Holstein herds in Wisconsin.
Born July 1, 1888, on the old Dean place near Erin, Doc was the ninth of a family of nine boys and two girls. His father, Bryan Dean, had come to Little Prairie (where Cylon now is) at the age of 12, so the Dean story is tied for several generations to the hills of western Wisconsin.
His mothers birthplace was at Marietta, Ohio. She had come here when her family moved to Emerald.
Bryan Dean worked a quarter section of land, raising diary cattle and grain when the Rileys, the Earlys, the Dixons and the Joyces were common family names in the Erin community. It was there that George Dean went to grade school. When the eldest son, Tom, was married about 1904, the family moved to the Dean farm on highway 65, leaving the old homestead to Tom and his new wife.
Doc boarded at Mrs. Pat Pardons house during his first year at New Richmond high school, but in the three subsequent years he, brother Walter, now a dentist in Indianapolis and sister Mary now Mary Dean Riley, a registered nurse in St. Paul, drove to school each day on a roadeart.
One day the horse dropped dead between the Russell Joyce and Joe Williams places, and Doc has never heard the last of it from his wife who insists that they must have been mistreating the horse.
In school Doc was strong on biology, football and baseball. His last playing year the football team including Charlie Wright, Dick Coughlin, Gerald McCarty, Walter Dean, Dan Salmons and Docdidnt lose a game. Doc, playing left half, recalls that the toughest game they had that year was with Gallahad boys school at Hudson. Hell proudly show you the ball from that game in his office.
Of course when the team traveled, there was little or no subsidization from the high school, and each boy paid his own transportation on the train.
At baseball, Doc caught for Harry Pegs Hanson, brother of Cora Hanson, who was later to become Mrs. George Dean. A picture of that team is shown elsewhere in the Town Crier.
Graduating from high school in 1910, Doc went that July to Lansford, North Dakota, where he worked harvesting, then took an examination and taught a short year (seven months) at nearby gardina. The next summer he again worked through the haying and harvesting season, then that fall went to the Indiana Veterinary College at Indianapolis.
Doc switched schools, and the next year went to the Chicago Veterinary College, graduating there in 1914. He returned to New Richmond that year following the death of Dr. Howes, another veterinarian.
He first teamed with Dr. P. A. Girard with offices in the present Henry Shern residence, but 18 months later opened his own office in the old Commercial Livery barn and remained there two years.
Early in 1919 Doc bought his present office and hospital from blacksmith A. J. Connelly and has remained there ever since.
For a few years he regularly kept two teams busy as he made his calls throughout St. Croix and adjoining counties. There was a strange after-dark fraternity, which traveled nearby roads in those days. Doc says that if he met anybody on the road during the night, it was invariably one of the Doctors McKeon, Wade or Eply.
Differing from current practice, a veterinarians work in those days was mostly horse doctoring and obstetric cases with little of todays involved testing.
Collections were terrific! Doc recalls. I had to burn up two books of old accounts.
When the first autos and tractors came out, Doc thought it was about the best thing which ever happened to the farm and he still does. Docs first auto was a Model T, which he bought from Bell and Webster, and he has since worn out a score of them including a snowmobile.
Its not only autos and tractors. Doc welcomes any labor saving machinery as a boon to farming. Practical experience has taught him the necessity of machinery in keeping the young people on the farm.
Doc has plenty of hardheaded practical ideas about other phases of farming, too. They all come from a lifetime of farm experience.
For example he believes in the wisdom of raising high producing cattle like his two herds of Holsteins. At the same time he believes that the government should encourage the long-time increases in blooded production by putting platforms under the price of milk to encourage milk producers.
A Holstein-Freisian Association official, Docs only hobby is his farm, although he is a charter member of the Knights of Columbus here and has been a member of the board of education since 1939.
Doc takes a good deal of pride in his home which is filled with family pictures. Although he had known her all his life, Doc and Mrs. Dean first really met on a blind date. They were married in 1919 here when Frank Brown and Mrs. Ed King stood up with them. Their son, Charles, now works in Amery, and Charles two girls, age 12 and 13, are regular tomboys, to hear Doc tell it.
Once a mainstay in the choir at the Church of the Immaculate Conception and for years the outstanding soprano soloist in this area, Mrs. Dean still sings when she gets a chance to.
Both she and Doc, think that New Richmond is the finest town going, and watching it go for almost as long as anybody, they are in a position to know.
(taken from The New Richmond Town Crier, May 1, 1947)
Peter Dennis, for twenty-seven years road commissioner of the township of Hammond, is a native of County Armagh, Ireland, a son of Dennis and Bridget McGeger, born March 20, 1841. The mother died in 1844 and the father passed away in 1896. Peter received a good common school education in the schools of Ireland and then engaged for some years as a practical miller in his native country. In 1864 he came to America and located on one of the rich tobacco farms near Hartford, Conn., for one year. He then went to Waupaca county, Wisconsin, and followed his trade of miller, also working in the woods and on the river. In 1869 he came to Hammond Township and bought eighty acres of land. To this he has added from time to time until he now owns 320 acres, nearly all of which he improved. He is considered as having one of the finest farms in the township. He raises large crops of grains, some vegetables, and breeds Shorthorn and Jersey cattle, Poland China and I. O. C. hogs and Plymouth Rock fowls. November 3, 1873, Mr. Dennis married Maria Hawkins, of Warren township, Wisconsin, daughter of Thomas and Catherine Hawkins, natives of County Gallaway, Ireland, but now popular farmers in Warren. Mr. and Mrs. Dennis have seven children: Fred is at home; Agnes married William Hyde, of Hammond; Elizabeth married Mike Collins, a machinist at Hudson, Wis.; Lottie graduated from the River Falls normal school and teaches school; John is at home; Cora is a music teacher, and William is also at home. Mr. Dennis is a democrat in politics and has served on the school board as treasurer for six years. He is a member of the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin and a communicant of the Catholic Church. He is a man who believes in up-to-date methods in all his farming operations. He has on his farm four wells, one 80 feet and three 130 feet each, two of them being provided with modern windmills. A fine barn, which burned as the result of a lightning stroke in 1898, was replaced in 1899 by one, which Mr. Dennis erected at a cost exceeding $2,000. Mr. Dennis is an able farmer, a good citizen and a true friend, one who in his entire life has never knowingly wronged a man by word or deed. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
<b>Rev. Dr. P. A. DeParadis,</b> Pastor of the Immaculate Conception Church of New Richmond and attached missions as far north as Burnett Co. Born in Rome in 1842; came to America in 1878, and soon settled in New Richmond; commenced building a fine church, which is now nearly completed; has built up a large society. He speaks seven different languages fluently; is a gentleman of large experience and ripe culture, loved and respected by the whole town.<p>
<b>(Taken from "History of Northern Wisconsin", pub. 1881)</b>
James Donahue is the son of Thomas and Mary (Ryan) Donahue, born in Clinton County, New York, October 15, 1855. The parents came to that county from Ireland in 1853 and followed farming all their lives. The father died in 1856. The mother brought her family to Hudson Wisconsin in 1859, and passed away in 1894.
James received a good education in the common schools of Erin Township, St. Croix County Wisconsin. After leaving school he took up farming on the farm of his Uncle James Ryan, which he inherited from that gentleman. Later Mr. Donahue added eighty acres adjoining. In 1906 he purchased the farm of W. H. Riley, in the eastern part of the township. Upon these large farms, both in Erin Township, he carries on general diversified farming.
Mr. Donahue was married June 22, 1886, to Nellie Clennan, daughter of David and Mary (Martin) Clennan, prominent farmers of Erin Township. This union has been blessed with seven children, all of whom are at home. They are: John, Mary, Frank, William, Agnes, Ervin, and Walter.
Mr. Donahue is a staunch Democrat, and has served on side board for two terms, also as clerk and treasurer of School District No. 6 for 25 years. He is a member of the Catholic Order of Foresters and a communicant of Catholic Church. He is honest, hard working, and upright, a good citizen in every respect.
James Ryan, the uncle from whom Mr. Donahue inherited his farm, was a veteran of the Civil War. He enlisted at Hudson, WI, in 1864, in Company A, Forty-Fourth Wisconsin Volunteers and was honorably discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, in 1865. His captain was the brave Captain Brown.
Taken from History of St. Croix Valley. Copyright 1909.
, miner, agriculturist and mayor of New Richmond, has led a life filled with thrilling adventures and experiences such as fall to the log of but a few men in this part of the country. He was born in Ireland, December 5, 1845, son of Daniel and Mary (Mahoney) Donohue. The family came to this country in 1849 and stayed for a short time in New York City, later moving to Ohio, and still later to Kentucky, after which they located in the St. Croix valley at Hudson, Wis., in 1855. In 1859 they moved to St. Joseph Township, same county. The father followed farming, and later in life spent his declining years with his sons at New Richmond, Wis. He died in 1892. Charles Donohue accompanied the family in their various locations, and upon their settlement in the St. Croix valley he entered the St. Croix public schools and received a good common school education, although he is largely a self-made man and his wide experiences and retentive memory have given him a fund of information that could not be secured at college. Mr. Donohue has made a close study of farming, becoming an expert agriculturist. All his farming operations are conducted along the latest approved scientific lines. In the early sixties Mr. Donohue decided to try his fortunes in the west. For six years he followed the vocation of mining the Colorado, other western states, and Mexico. When the Klondyke fever was at its height he went to Alaska and remained there three years, acquiring a detailed knowledge of the geography of Alaska to such an extent that even now it is said that there are few men who know the Klondyke regions as does the mayor of New Richmond, Wis. In the fall of 1900 he returned to New Richmond and retired. As a mark of their esteem the people of the city elected him mayor, he being the only man who has ever been honored by election to that office without opposition. He was furthermore honored by being one of the state delegates to the Democratic convention that nominated W. J. Bryan for the presidency at Denver in 1908. Mr. Donohue was married in 1872, April 10, to Mary McGoldrick, at Stillwater, Minn. She was the daughter of Patrick and Mary (Carroll) McGoldrick, who were born in Ireland and settled in Iowa in the early days. During their long years of happy married life Mr. and Mrs. Donohue have been blessed with seven children, four of whom are now living: Daniel J. is a physician at Glendive, Mont.; Anna is married to John M. Haggan, D. D. S., of New Richmond; J. C. lives at Glendive, Mont., and Mary M. is the wife of N. F. Barger, a commission man in the employ of Welsh and Company at Minneapolis, Minn. Mrs. Donohue passed away May 5, 1893.
In addition to a beautiful city residence, Mr. Donohue owns 120 acres of land in the St. Croix valley, and aside from his present position as mayor he has been on the county board for thirty years and has served as registrar of deeds for the county. For two years he was county sheriff. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
is a native of Ireland, born in County Clair in 1840, son of Timothy and Mary (ODay) Dowd. Timothy Dowd came to America in 1851 and located in Westchester county, New York State. John received a common school education and then worked with his father. Later he went to St. Croix County and purchased 140 acres. He followed farming until 1903, when he purchased a house and lot on First street, New Richmond, Wis. In early manhood Mr. Dowd decided to join the navy. He went to New York for this purpose, but changed his mind and went to Australia for three years instead. Mr. Dowd was married, July 7, 1873, to Ellen Cavahaugh, of Milwaukee. She died in 1889 on the farm in Stanton Township. His second wife, Rose Higgins, was born in Massachusetts and came to Stanton Township with her parents when she was one year of age. She was one of three children. The father died in 1866 at Stanton. Mr. and Mrs. Dowd have two children: Thomas and Blanche, both at home. By his previous marriage Mr. Dowd has five children.
Mr. Dowd was one of the town supervisors of Stanton four years and a member of the school board three years. He is a Democrat in politics and attends the Catholic Church. He is a member of the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Edward Dunbar is a son of Patrick and Ann (Kane) Dunbar, of whom a sketch will be found in this history in connection with that of their son, Patrick. Edward received a common school education in Spartansburg, Pa., to which place his parents moved when he was a small boy, and then engaged with his father in farming for many years. Coming to Emerald, he purchased 120 acres, which he cleared and developed. In 1904 he erected a comfortable home. He carries on a general farming and breeds both cattle and horses. Mr. Dunbar was married, January 21, 1891, to Nellie Riley, daughter of Miles and Ann (Kane) Riley natives of County Mayo, Ireland. They came to America in 1881 and located at Erin Township. The mother died in September 1895, and the father is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Dunbar have been blessed with eight children, as follows: Dell, born April 18, 1893; Marie, September 4, 1894; Rosella, October 13, 1896; Sibina, October 26, 1898; Edward, March 12, 1900; Miles, July 5, 1902; Joseph, April 8, 1904, and Dora, August 6, 1907. Mrs. Dunbar has three brothers, Patrick, Peter and John, and one sister Ann, married to Joseph Millner, an engineer at St. Paul, Minn. Mr. Dunbar is a Democrat in politics and has served as chairman of the town for five years. For many years he has been treasurer of school districts Nos. 1 and 5, which office he now holds. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and also the Ancient Order of Hibernians. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Michael Dunbar is a native of Wheeling, W. Va., born July 15, 1856, son of Anthony and Helen (Manley) Dunbar. The parents came from County Mayo, Ireland, and settled in Hudson, Wis., in 1850, after which they located in Cylon, Wis., staying until 1855. The following year they bought 400 acres of land in Emerald and Erin, Wis., a part in each township. They broke the land, made general improvements and did a mixed farming. Both parents are now dead. Michael received a thorough education in the public schools, afterward taking up farming with his father. Upon that gentlemans death, Michael inherited 120 acres in Erin Prairie, Erin Township, which he has since improved and developed. In 1905 he built a new house. He now carries on general diversified farming. Mr. Dunbar was married February 1896, to Emma Bowers, of Minneapolis, Minn., daughter of John Bowers, a Minneapolis physician. They have had three children, Helen, Alice and Geneva, all at home. Mr. Dunbar is a staunch Republican, and a member of the Catholic Church. Twice he has been supervisor of the town of Emerald and treasurer of School District No. 1 for three years. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Patrick B. Dunbar was born in Spartansburg, Crawford county, Pa., March 28, 1865, son of Patrick and Ann (Kane) Dunbar, of County Mayo, Ireland, who came to America in 1858, locating at Holyoke, Mass., the father being employed in the cotton mills. In 1860 the family moved to Spartansburg, where the father worked at railroading until 1877, when he came to St. Croix County and bought 160 acres, which he broke and improved and upon which he erected a home for his family. He carried on a general farming business. He now makes his home with his son, Patrick, his wife having passed away in 1907. Patrick received his education in the graded schools of Spartansburg and after leaving school learned the plumbers trade, which he continued until 1894, when he came to Emerald, and shortly after took charge of the home farm, buying his brothers interests in the estate and making a home for his parents. In 1907 he moved to the village and bought a house and lot, where he now lives, renting his farm to other parties and engaging in the elevator business. Mr. Dunbar was married, October 28, 1903, to Mary Kennedy, of Emerald township, daughter of Anthony and Mary (Riley) Kennedy, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, but now residents of this township. Mr. and Mrs. Dunbar have three childrenWalter, born November 27, 1904; Francis, born April 17, 1906, and Mary A., born November 26, 1907. Mr. Dunbar is a Democrat and a member of the Catholic Church. He belongs to Division No. 1, Ancient Order of Hibernians, at Cylon, and Greenwood Camp, No.7,001., Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Dunbar is noted for his honest and upright character. He is in comfortable circumstances, and no public movement is undertaken until he has been asked his opinion in the matter. Although an eastern man, he is intensely interested in St. Croix County, and combines Eastern stability with Western progressiveness. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
DUNBAR/MANLEY FAMILY OF ST. CROIX COUNTY
Mary Helen Manley was reported to have been born Mary 1835 in Ireland and died Dec. 19, 1905, in Cylon, St. Croix County, Wisconsin. She married Anthony Dunbar about 1852 in Ireland. He was born about 1820 in County Mayo, Ireland, and died Aug. 17 1892, in St. Croix County. His burial is recorded at Holy Rosary Cemetery and it is assumed she is buried there also. The marriage date is approximate as she reported being married 40 years in the 1900 census when she was a widow. Since Anthony died in 1892, the marriage date is calculated from that date. In 1900, she stated she had borne 7 children, 6 still living.
The couple reportedly emigrated to the US between 1850 (Anthonys report) to 1855 (Mary Helens report). Records indicate 1857 as the year they came to Wisconsin. Anthony owned a 400-acre farm that straddled the two townships of Erin and Emerald.
Of the children found in various federal censuses, one, Peter F. Dunbar, was born April 1863 in Wisconsin and died in 1945 in St. Croix County. He is buried in Holy Rosary Cemetery.
Peter married Helen (Nelly) Tigue of Anoka County, Minnesota. Nellys grandmother Ellen Manley Tigue was a sister to Peters mother. Since Peter and Nelly were first cousins once removed, their marriage was delayed, probably by the church, until Nelly was about 50 years old. Evidence suggests that they were married in 1921.
Nelly was a rather successful dressmaker in the Twin Cities, both before her marriage to Peter and after his death. Nelly brought to the marriage a child named Anna. In the 1920 census, a foster child named Anna Tigue, age 15, was living with her and Nelly's father Michael Patrick Tigue, son of Ellen Manley McTigue, in Minneapolis. Anna's parents were born in Austria. Annas real surname is not known, nor has it ever been determined whether she was legally adopted or not.
In the 1930 census of Emerald Township, Peter and Nelly are farming and they have 2 boarders, Alice Roach, age 13, and Elizabeth Middlebrook, age 21. Elizabeth was a teacher in the public school. Anna is not living with the Dunbars and it is unknown who she was or what happened to her.
The facts presented here are a composite of census records, family histories, and message board postings. Please report any errors or omissions. The Tigue family would like to know more about the Dunbars, particularly Peter, and also any further information on Anna, the mysterious foster child. Information on Peters exact date of death would be especially be appreciated. Submitted by: Ann Dea Hogan