is the son of James and Sarah Gardiner, and was born in Kingston, Canada, on the 1st
of May 1841. His parents died when he was quite young. At the age of eighteen years, young Edward came to this state and located on a farm not quite two miles out of Hammond, taking up some school land. Here he farmed for eleven years, and then came to the center of Hammond to run the Pioneer Hotel and livery stables. This property was destroyed by fire and Mr. Gardiner rebuilt it under the name of Gardiner Hotel, running it for fourteen years. He was then elected county treasurer two years, being the only man who won on the Democratic ticket that election. After this Mr. Gardiner went to Minneapolis and conducted a livery two years. He then returned to Hammond and engaged in the hardware business twelve years, retiring in 1904. He owns considerable property, including town holdings, in Hammond city holdings in Minneapolis and stock in the Bank of Hammond, of which he is a director and vice president. He is a Democrat in politics, and has held all the offices of the town, such as president of the village, treasurer of the township, member of the school board, etc. He is also a member of the I. O. O. F., in which order he has held several offices. In 1861 he was married to Marion Ross, daughter of William and Marion (McKay) Ross, who came to Canada from Glasgow, Scotland, where their daughter was born in 1842. Mr. Ross moved from Canada to Hammond in the early days, and until the time of his death devoted his life to farming. He was treasurer of the town thirteen years. Mr. Gardiner is still a hard-working man and enjoys the universal esteem and respect of his fellow citizens. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Alex. Germain is of the third generation of a prominent family of Somerset, St. Croix county, Wis., grandfather father and son all having won success and honor here. He was born in Somerset, village, February 18, 1874, a son of Zephere and Elizabeth (Parnell) Germain. His parents and grandparents came from Canada in the early days when this section of the country was practically a wilderness. They took up land, which they broke and improved, and before many years they saw the rich soil blooming with heavy crops, while the pastures and meadows teemed with live stock. The father is still living, and after a life of hard work and successful effort is now residing in retirement, reaping the reward of a well-earned rest. Like the other boys of his age in those days, young Alex. Attended the common schools and then worked with his father several years. In 1899 he went to Valparaiso, Ind., and studied pharmacy, graduating August 15, 1901, with high honors. While at college he studied hard and was well liked by both faculty and students. Returning to Somerset, he established a drug store, erecting the building in which the business is located. He also owns the adjoining confectionery store. Mr. Germain is a member of the Catholic Order of Foresters and attends the Catholic Church. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Anthony Germain is a native of St. Croix county, born in Somerset Township in 1858, a son of Zedore and Delimore Germain, both of French descent. The father was a farmer and came to the United States at the age of 65 years when St. Paul was not in existence. He died on the farm of his son, August. Of his family of 12 children, 7 still survive. Anthony received a common school education and then started work on the farm, which occupation he has since made his life work. He owns a fine farm of 240 acres in Richmond Township, 200 being under the plow. All the land was broken by Mr. Germain himself and all the improvements on the land are the result of his own hard work. He raises general crops in large quantities and also breeds cattle, hogs and horses. In 1882, Mr. Germain was married to Jane Lute, daughter of Joe and Betsy Lute, who were old settlers in this valley. By this union there are 10 children, John, Mary, Henry, Archie, Rosie, Agnes, Willie, Ernest, Walter and Fred, the latter being deceased. All the children have been a credit to their parents and are well thought of by their associates. Mr. Germain votes the Democratic ticket. His farm is highly improved and he is regarded as one of the successful and prosperous citizens of the valley. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
Thomas Gerraughty (also used many other various spellings), was born in Erris of Kilmore, Connaught, Ireland. His naturalization papers of 1855 said he came to America, 3 March 1843/1849- (cannot read the number). He married Sabina/Sara Loftus in Ireland. She died in Vincennes, Indiana in 1858. They had 9 children. Thomas ran a boarding house for a ralroad contractor in 1846 in New York City. He also had a boarding house on Busseron St. between First and Second, in Vincennes, Indiana. He came to Wisconsin before 1869. He died there in 1882 and is buried at St. Patricks in Erin Prairie, Wisconsin.
#1. Eugene Owen Gerraughty, 1842-1907. Born in Ireland, and came to Wisconsin. Married Catherine Clancy (the widow of Lawrence Moore) in 1878. She already had one step-son and 10 children with Lawrence Moore. Owen and Catherine had one daughter, Subina 1880-1956, who married John Gerrity, who changed the spelling to Gherty. Owen and Catherine also raised her daughters child Agnes. Owen is buried at St. Patricks of Erin Prairie.
#2. Sarah, 1845-1870. Born in Ireland. She was murdered by her husband, John McHale in Vincennes, Indiana. She left 3 sons, John 1862-1940, Thomas 1864-1941, and James 1867-1948. The sons went to an orphanage. Their father went to jail for 21 years and cost of proceedings. Sarah is buried in Vincennes.
#3. Anthony Gerraughty, 1846-1937. Newspaper article said he was born in New York City. He was a railroad worker all his life and once was locked in a train station by Jesse James. Living in Indiana in 1862 with his family, he ran away from home to join the 80th Indiana of the Union Army. He married Martha Holder. His children were, Blanche 1895-1969, who married John Merlo. William T. 1891-1949, married Lillian Dovorak. Claude A. 1900-1990, married Sally/Sophia Groat and daughter Toni died in infancy as did 6 other babies. Anthony died in Pine Bluff, Arkansas and is buried in Brinkley, Ark.
#4. Michael Gerraughty, 1847-1907 was a railroad employee all his life. Mostly in the state of Washington. His sons Thomas 1881-1905, and William 1883-1942 also worked on the railroads. Michael died on a visit to Wisconsin and is buried at Washington.
#5. William Curly Gerrity, 1852/1855-1926 came with the family to Wisconsin by 1869. (They were paying taxes on land in May 1869). He married (Mary) Ann Moore 1861-1949. They had 4 girls, (Elizabeth) Pearl 1894-1976, (Annetta) Blanch 1896-1973 who married Peter Olson, (Maria) Gladys 1899-1930 who married Louis P. Stevens, and (Loretta) Florence 1901-1987. William and his family are buried at St. Patricks, Erin Prairie. The 7th generation now lives on this farm in Emerald, Wisconsin.
#6. Mary Garrity 1853/1857-1929, moved with the family to Wisconsin and married Peter Maloney. Children were Patrick 1871-1880, and Sadie Ann 1875-1967, married John Henry Riley and raised 7 children. She is buried at St. Patricks of Erin Prairie, but no marker is found.
#7 Ellen Garrity 1853/1858-1926, married Thomas Conroy. Children were Margaret Ellen born 1882, married Art Kinnie, Thomas Edward born 1887, and Katherine married Joe Kelly. All lived in Minneapolis after Ellen and Thomas marriage, but the parents are buried at St. Patricks of Erin Prairie.
#8 and #9 Thomas and John twins, born May 1857 and died August 1857. Buried at Vincennes, Indiana.
(Information submitted by Jeannine Rachner, Emerald, WI)
F. J. Geurkink was born in Sheboygan county, Wisconsin, September 2, 1866, son of G. J. and Jane (Nonhof) Geurkink, natives of Holland, of whom a sketch will be found in this history in connection with that of Henry Geurkink. F. J. went to the common schools and worked on the farm with his father until 1887, when he bought forty acres from his father and carried on a general farming until 1891, when he sold out and purchased eighty acres, which he broke and improved, now carrying on a general farming with much success. Mr. Geurkink was married December 7, 1893, to Dena Bauwmester, daughter of John and Cena (Terhaar) Bauwmester, natives of Holland, but now living in Baldwin. Seven children have blessed this union: Roy, born September 21, 1894; Fred, born February 20, 1896, and Walter, born October 2, 1897; Howard, born October 19, 1900; Alvin, born September 3, 1903; Earl and Irma, twins, born September 5, 1907. Mr. Geurkink is a republican in politics and attends the Dutch Reformed church. He has served both as assessor and school clerk of Baldwin. He is an industrious laborer and his ability is acknowledged by a wide circle of acquaintances. Upon his ninety-acre farm he carries on up-to-date farming operations, owning a 192-foot drilled well, over which is erected a forty-eight-foot tower. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Henry Geurkink is a native of this state, born in Sheboygan county, August 23, 1872,, son of G. J. and Jane Geurkink, natives of Holland. The parents came to America and located at Milwaukee, where they remained until 1866, when they removed to Sheboygan County. There the father bought sixty acres of land, which he broke and improved, carrying on general farming until 1882, when he sold out and moved ot Hammond township, purchasing eighty acres, where he farmed until 1885. He then sold this place and acquired 160 acres in Baldwin Township, which he worked until 1894, then retiring to live in the village, where he now owns a nice home and continues to reside. Henry received a good education in the common schools and farmed with his father until twenty-one years of age. He then rented a farm for seven years, afterward purchasing eighty acres in Hammond Township, which he has greatly improved, building a fine new barn valued at $1,500. He now carries on general farming, raising general crops and some stock, being a great fancier of horses. Mr. Geurkink was married November 25, 1901, to Dora Doornicnk, daughter of William Doornink, a native of Holland, but now a prominent farmer of Baldwin Township. Mr. and Mrs. Geurkink have one child. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
William Gillen is a native of Emerald, born November 27, 1871, son of Michael and Ellen (Campbell) Gillen. They came to America from Ireland in 1847 and located at Rock county, Wis., for one year. In 1854 they came to Emerald Township and bought 320 acres of land, which the father broke and improved. Later he added another 100 acres, and carried on general farming until his death, February 14, 1907. The mother died February 12, 1905. William received his education in the common schools of Emerald and then took up farming with his father until 1891, when he bought a farm of 140 acres, which he broke and improved. He has continued to develop the place and now carries on a diversified farming. He was married September 2, 1896, to Annie ODonell, of Emerald Township. She was the daughter of Anthony and Bridget (McLaughlin) ODonell, prominent residents of this township. By this union there are five children. Florence was born July 9, 1897; Gerald was born December 14, 1898; Mary was born May 9, 1902; William F. was born in June 1904, and Margaret was born September1, 1907. Mr. Gillen is an independent voter. From 1894 to 1897 he served the township as clerk and is now serving his fifth term as chairman of the town board. He is a member of the Catholic Church and of the Modern Woodmen of America. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
John Emmerson Glover,
to whose energy, foresight and indomitable perseverance the prosperity of New Richmond and vicinity is largely indebted, was born in Windsor county, Vermont, June 10, 1841, son of Ezra and Dorothy (Emmerson) Glover, the former having been born in Barnard, Windsor county, Vermont, in 1818, and the latter in Rochester, same county and state, in 1816. They were married in Vermont in the spring of 1840, afterward moving to Akron, Ohio, in 1843, and coming to St. Croix County in May of 1856. The fathers health became impaired in following the occupation of pearl ash worker, and upon removing to this state he took up the occupation of farming, passing away in 1899, preceded three years by his wife, she passed away in 1896. Mr. and Mrs. Ezra Glover were typical Vermonters, staunch of character and clear of intellect, of a race that has had an important part in the upbuilding of the nation. They left to mourn their loss four children: John E.; Mrs. H. D. Brown, of St. Paul, Minn.; Ella J., deceased in 1887, and Ezra A. a successful merchant of New Richmond, Wis.
John E. was brought up on the farm, and after attending the common schools went to the River Falls academy, at River Falls, this state, supplementing this with a course in the law school at Ann Arbor, Mich. During the war he served three years in the secret service and one year under John J. Elwell, purchasing quartermaster of the New York department. At the close of the combat he commenced the practice of law, following the same with considerable success until 1881, when he retired from active practice. Although he has never since that time appeared before the bench in an official capacity, his knowledge of the law has been of great assistance to him in his business and in his dealings with men. Prior to the time of his retirement from the law he had become interested in the manufacture of lumber, also in buying grain, manufacturing flour and banking, to which occupations since 1881 he has given his entire attention. In 1880 he built the lumber mill at New Richmond, equipped with one band. In 1901 rebuilt and added gang and resaw. In 1907 the business of this mill had grown to such enormous proportions that the output was 24,000,000 feet of lumber, the operation giving employment to many of New Richmonds citizens, and putting in circulation a large amount of money. In 1904 Mr. Glover sold his flourmills to O. W. Mosher. The lumber mills were transferred to his sons, George C. and Leslie, Mr. Glover, however, retaining an interest.
October 10, 1887, he organized the Manufacturers bank, of New Richmond, of which he was and still is practically the owner. He has been its president during its entire existence. This bank has had an important partin fact, may be considered the most important factorin the business and financial integrity of New Richmond. During the financial panic of 1893 there was a run on the bank, and one particular Saturday night, closing time, found the cash in the vaults practically exhausted. It was then that Mr. Glovers will power, energy and strength of character came into play. Before Monday morning came he had secured $85,000.00 in cash, no small feat in those days in this part of the country, when even the big city banks were making every effort to keep every dollar of cash that they were able to lay their hands on. Piling this cash in plain sight of the waiting and anxious throng outside, Mr. Glover opened the door, faced the depositors and in rather forceful but entirely characteristic manner and language he shouted, "Come in and get your money everyone of you. Dont wait. Come in and get it. Come in." But the unexpected and entirely unlooked-for sight of so much money and his willingness to pay it out, also coupled with the reputation that he had always borne, caused a reaction, and before night the bank had received over $20,000 in deposits not only from parties who had previously withdrawn their money but also from some who had been hoarding it. From that time to this the credit of the Manufacturers bank has never been questioned.
February 25, 1865, Mr. Glover married Miss Ellen S. Ensign at Warsaw, Wyoming county, New York. This union has been blessed with four children: Mrs. L. A. Baker, born March 14, 1867; George C., born June 14, 1870; Leslie E., born April 2, 1873, and Mrs. Florence V. Meyer, born February 17, 1877, all of New Richmond.
The subject of this sketch served as district attorney of St. Croix county in 1875. Until 1896 he was a Democrat; in that year he voted for Palmer and Buckner, since when he has voted the Republican ticket. Aside from his other business interests, Mr. Glover owns the Gloverdale farm of 560 acres and the Willowville farm of 1,500 acres. At Gloverdale he has five large barns and four at Willowville. On these places he raises thoroughbred Galloway cattle and Belgian horses, having some of the finest imported stock in the country.
Mr. Glover has many friends, and like all men who have accomplished things, several enemies, but not one of the latter can deny that he is a man of strong character, business ability and good sense, one who has had an important place in the making of New Richmond what is today.
Mr. Glover built and owns the Superior and Southeastern railway, which runs from Grandview to Winter on the Chippewa river; has 34 miles constructed and under operation; when completed will be eighty miles, including branches. The Willow River Lumber Company owns 200,000,000 standing timber on this line.
Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
was born in Vestal, Bloom county, N.Y., November 30, 1835, son of Luther and Martha (Swartwood) Goodnoe, and grandson of Luther Goodnoe, a native of France, who settled in New York state prior to the Revolution, in which was he took part. On his mothers side Mr. Goodnoe is of German descent. The grandfather, Luther, was a farmer and miller and lived and died in Bloom County, New York, as did his son, also named Luther. Moses received a common school education in his native county and as a young man took up lumbering, an occupation which he still continued to follow after coming westward and locating at Stillwater, Minn. In 1861 he located in Roberts and purchased 160 acres of land, taking up farming as an occupation. He enlisted August 11, 1862 in Company A, Thirtieth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry. The company engaged in skirmishes with the Indians and assisted in building Fort Sully, S. Dak., and Fort Rice, N. Dak. He took part in the battle of Nashville and was discharged September 20, 1965, at Louisville, Ky. At the close of the hostilities he returned home and for a period of eleven years was employed by Andrew Baldwin, who with John Humbird, constructed the first railroad in this locality. In 1876 he once more took up farming, continuing the same until he retired in 1907. His farm consists of 160 acres of well-cultivated land, well improved and equipped with all the latest styles of modern farm machinery and implements. The subject of this sketch was a brave and valiant soldier and has many interesting stories to tell of his war experiences. He is a thorough reader, and his advice is often sought on many important questions. He is a successful farmer and a good citizen, now enjoying a well-deserved rest, after years of hard toil and self-denial. He is a Republican in politics, a member of the school board and the board of supervisors, a communicant of the Methodist church and a comrade of the G. A. R. Mr. Goodnoe was married November 18, 1875, to Caroline Feagins, daughter of George and Mary (Stockley) Feagins, natives of England, who settled in Schoharie county, New York, at an early date, the father being a grist miller. In 1858 he located at Belvidere, Ill., where he ended his days. Mr. and Mrs. Goodnoe had four children, as follows: Minnie married James Turner, a farmer of Roberts; Fred married Edith White; William married Agnes Strait, and had one daughter, Gladys Irene; Harry is employed in the oil fields of Illinois.
Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
John T. Grady
was born in New Richmond, Wis., June 14, 1874, a son of Patrick and Bridget Grady, both of Ireland. The parents came to Boardman, Wis., in 1868, bought eighty acres, broke and improved the land, erected ahouse and other buildings and carried on a general farming industry until 1875, when they sold out and purchased 120 acres at Erin Prairie, Erin township, Wisconsin, where they broke an improved the land, raising general crops and some live stock and fowls as on the previous farm. The father died October 18, 1906, and the mother is still living on the old homestead with her son, the subject of this sketch. In the family there were six children, of whom John T. is the third. Mary married Charles Caldwell, a farmer of Hudson, Wis.; Catherine, wife of Edward Cullen, died in New Richmond, October 15, 1899; William, a farmer at Erin, married Nellie Meath; Anna married George Paul, a farmer at Hudson, and Margaret married Martin Jennings, a farmer of the town of Richmond. John T. received a good common school education and started work on the farm with his father, running a thresher every fall. He has since continued on the same farm, taking possession upon the death of his father. He has made many improvements on the old place, remodeling the buildings and bringing the farm to a high degree of perfection. Mr. Grady votes the Democratic ticket. He is supervisor of the town and clerk of the school board, having occupied the former position with great credit four terms, and the latter twelve terms. His public services have always been satisfactory, because honestly and faithfully performed. He is a self-made man, owing all that he possesses to his own hard work and sterling honesty. He is also a hard worker and a great believer in education. The family worships at the Catholic church. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
was born in Montgomery, Orange county, N. Y. in 1863, a son of Gardiner S. and Anna Williams Graham. The family came to St. Croix County in the early days and settled in Roberts when the village contained but three houses. The father established one of the first general stores in the town of Warren, but later sold out and went to farming. He is still living at Roberts. William received a good general education in the common schools and had one years work in Carleton college, Northfield, Minn. After leaving school he worked for a time with his father on the farm, but soon entered the employment of James H. Bowne, who conducted a general store at Roberts. This was the beginning of Mr. Grahams business career and he has continued in this line of work ever since. He remained with Mr. Bowne until the latter retired from business to take up farming, and in 1886 he established his present business in connection with the post office, having been appointed postmaster by President Cleveland. He deals in general merchandising, and makes a specialty of crockery, hardware, hard and soft coal, clothing, boots and shoes. In 1903 the rapidly increasing business warranted the erection of a large brick building, which the store now occupies. Mr. Graham is an acute businessman, and has managed his store in a way to make it profitable to himself and satisfactory to a rapidly increasing number of customers. Mr. Graham is known as a businessman of the greatest integrity and honor, and is held in high esteem and respect by all who know him. He has never aspired to public office, preferring to do his work is a quiet unostentatious way. He very acceptably filled the position of postmaster for two terms, 1886-1890 and 1893-1897, and since 1898 he has been clerk of the school board in the village of Roberts. This position he has filled with great credit and largely through his efforts the village school has been enlarged and improved until now it is one of the best of its kind in the county. He is not married, and makes his home with his father. He is a member of the I. O. O. F.
Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
William M. Grant
, after successfully following several occupations, is now located in Hudson City, where he does market gardening, making a specialty of onion sets. His principal market is the head of the lakes. He was born April 17, 1862, at Hudson, son of George A. and Jane (Hosford) Grant. George A. Grant came to Hudson in the early fifties and worked eight years as a carpenter. Then he went to Kinnickinnic, St. Croix County, and bought 200 acres of land. To this he added 160 acres at Erin and 160 at Beldenville. The farm at Kinnickinnic was sold, December 1892,. During the following fall he acquired an acre of land at the end of Vine street, Hudson, and erected thereon a house and barns. A few years later he moved to Eighth street, where he lived until December 1, 1903, when he was taken to St. Lukes Hospital and died twelve days later. Upon leaving the public schools at Kinnickinnic, William M. Grant fist engaged in brick making and logging. He then bought a farm in Hudson, which he tilled until 1896, when he successfully engaged as a traveling salesman for L. L. May & Co., of St. Paul. In 1898 he purchased a farm of forty acres, which he cultivated. In 1900 he bought a house and five acres adjoining Hudson City, rebuilding the house and improving the land. Mr. Grant was married, November 28, 1889, to Hattie Otis, of Hudson. Her father, George, married to Harriet Barnes, was a prominent hardware dealer at Hudson until 1876, when he took up the meat business for a short time. After this he was bookkeeper for the Willow River Milling Company until he died, November 1, 1892. He was the father of five childrenHattie C., wife of the subject of this sketch; Olive and Mary, who died when young; Millicent P., wife of H. L. Bishop, a farmer at Hudson, and Basle J., an accountant for the Seattle Electric Company, Seattle, Wash. William M. Grant is a member of the Union Commercial Travelers Association and of the Woodmen. He is a Republican and has served one term as town assessor. The family faith is that of the Baptist denomination. Mr. Grants travels have been a valuable experience to him, and he is well informed upon the topics of the day. He takes a deep interest in all public affairs. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
L. G. Greene
inherits his sterling qualities from his parents, his father, Caleb, having been a Baptist clergyman for twenty years. Caleb Greene was born in Providence, R. I. He preached the gospel in New England and Ohio. Retiring from the ministry in 1850, he located on a farm at Hudson, where for many years he was a partner in the milling firm of Cox & Greene. His death occurred at Hudson, July 3, 1873. L. B. Greene was born in Trumbull County, Ohio, his mothers maiden name being Sarah Wescott. He received a common school education and served in the Union army one year. After working a time in his fathers mill he was received into partnership in 1866, under the firm name of Greene & Son. At the time of his fathers death he took entire charge of the business until 1894, when a part of the mill was swept away by a flood. One year later Mr. Greene purchased the present site at Junction, North Line, township of Hudson. He enlarged and improved the elevator that occupied it, installing up-to-date machinery and equipment. Della Rogers, to whom he was married, December 15, 1868, was the daughter of James and Roxy (Barnett) Rogers, of River Falls, Wis. Mr. Rogers died in the East. Mrs. Rogers spent her declining years at the home of her daughter. Mr. Greene was sheriff of St. Croix county two years, also supervisor of town and city several terms. He is a prominent Elkand a member of the I. O F. and I. O. O. F. The members of the family attend the Baptist and Methodist churches. The residence which Mr. Greene has rebuilt and improved is one of the most beautiful in Hudson, and is a fitting home for a man who is widely known and universally respected. He has two children. They are Mrs. F. R. Coit, of Hudson, Wis., and Mrs. H. A. Little, of St. Paul, Minn. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
Mrs. C. S. Greenfield was born in Canada, July 23, 1845, daughter of Jaems and Mary (Henery) Runions. The father came to St. Croix Falls, Wis., in 1849. The following year he located in Hudson, Wis., and in 1861 came to Warren township, St. Croix county, where he bought 300 acres, upon which he spent his remaining years, until the time of his death. Miss Rusnions, now Mrs. Greenfield, received an excellent education in the common schools of Wisconsin, and remained at home with her parents until September 29, 1859, when she was united in matrimony with Philip Brady, a carpenter by trade. Mr. Brady was interested in public affairs and served as a member of the town board of Warren for several years. He died at his home in Warren in 1868, deeply mourned by all who knew him. By this marriage there were three children. Mary married William Johnson, a blacksmith of Hudson, Wis. Annie is the wife of Robert Douglass, a farmer of Warren Township. Agnes married Grant Boardman, head miller at the New Richmond Rolling mills. A sketch of Mr. Boardman is found in this history. The subject of this sketch was next married to Clark Greenfield, of Hancock, Wis. He was a prominent farmer of that township, but immediately upon his marriage took up his home with his bride upon her farm in Warren township. They have added 240 acres to their original farm, making 540 acres in all. Mr. and Mrs. Greenfield are among the most successful and prominent farmers of the township. Mr. Greenfield is a staunch Republican. He has served the town of Warren as clerk and treasurer of the school board, also as postmaster of the town. Four children have blessed this union. Henry is a farmer in New Richmond township, Lester works at home on the farm. Medora married Frank Hennessy, a farmer in Warren Township. Howard is at home on the farm. Mr. and Mrs. Greenfield are most highly thought of by all who know them. Mrs. Greenfield is an acute business woman, and her husband is an accomplished farmer. The farm is up to date in every particular and the home is such a one as to be rare outside fo the big cities. It has telephone connections and is lighted with modern gasoline system. Mrs. Robarge, a lady of extremely old age, has made her home with Mrs. Greenfield for some time. She came from Canada with Mrs. Greenfield in 1848, and was married to Mr. Robarge, a millwright of St. Croix Falls and Minneapolis, who died in 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Greenfield worship at the Episcopal Church. Mr. Brady, the former husband, was a communicant of the Catholic Church and voted the Democratic ticket. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", volume 2, published in 1909.)
E. W. Gridley,
one of the younger of the successful farmers of the county, was born in Hudson Township, April 11, 1876. He is the son of Russell and Laverna Gridley, who came to St. Croix County in the early sixties. Russell Gridley established a hardware business in Hudson, being among the earliest hardware dealers of this section. After successfully conducting this business for number years, he disposed of his interest in it and started farming three miles out of Hudson, where he spent his remaining days. He has six children, four of whom are living. They are: Russell, Ida, Alfred and Elbert W. Ew. W., who received a common school education, had devoted his life to the development of the farm, which his father left. The land consists of 200 acres, 150 of which are under full cultivation. Mr. Gridley has made many improvements and brought the farm to a high degree of productiveness. He carries on a general farming, including the raising of graded stock. He is a member of the American Society of Equity and has been clerk of the school board. The Republican platform covers his political faith. He is a worthy example of the generation whose fathers paved the way for the present prosperity of the St. Croix valley, and is one of the men who are likely to be heard from in future years. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)
R. A. Gridley. Mr. Gridley was a native of New York State, where he was born in 1822. While still a young man, he moved to Illinois, and from there came to Wisconsin, engaging in business in various parts of the State, finally turning his attention to farming near this city. He was an energetic business man, improving whatever he handled. His eyesight finally failed. He was twice married, and left six children in all. He was patient and resigned under his affliction. His death was in July 1878.
(Taken from "History of Northern Wisconsin", pub. 1881>
James A. Guy,
now deceased, was an old and respected farmer of Stanton Township, St. Croix County, Wisconsin. He was born in Gallipolis, Ohio,June 28, 1830, son of Robert and Eliza (Vanzant) Guy, both descended from old Virginian families. They lived successively in Virginia, Ohio and Indiana. The father died September 3, 1834, in Indiana, and the mother passed away at Stanton, January 7, 1879. James A. received an excellent education in the common schools of Indiana, supplemented by considerable home study on his own account. He clerked and taught school in Laporte, Ind., and then located in Afton, Minn., where he started his career as a farmer, buying land, erecting a house and barns and making many improvements, carrying on a general farming. After several years of this he sold out and located in Stanton Township, St. Croix County, Wisconsin, in 1866, buying 169 acres of land, which he broke and improved. He erected a beautiful dwelling house and some fine barns. The windmill, which he constructed, was the first one ever put in operation in the township. He at once started farming on a large scale, raising wheat and oats in addition to general small crops and stock, which he still continues. Mr. Guy was married, November 17, 1853, to Camilla Harvey, of Indiana, now deceased, by whom he had four children: Fannie E., the oldest is deceased; William H. is a contractor and real estate man in Denver, Col.; John H. is deceased, and J. Lincoln, the youngest, is a farmer at Big Rock, Ill. Mr. Guy was married the second time to Mary V., daughter of Jonah and Ann (Eddy) Palmer, farmers of Ohio and Minnesota. The ceremony was performed at New Richmond, Wis., November 3, 1867. Mrs. Guys father died July 18, 1865, in Illinois, and her mother passed away at Afton, Minn., June 28, 1861. By this marriage Mr. Guy has four children: Ada May died March 3, 1897; she was the wife of Edward Plank, a penmanship teacher, of Almond, Wis.; Amy J. was a stenographer before her marriage to Ethan Minier; Mr. Minier was formerly a lawyer at Amery, Wis.; he now owns a large sheep ranch in South Dakota. Eve L. learned the profession of photographer. With her husband, James Goodlad, she now lives at the old Guy homestead and helps to make her mother comfortable. Lillian, the youngest, also lives at home. Mr. Guy was a Republican and attended the Methodist church. As supervisor of the town he helped to lay out nearly all the roads in Stanton township. He was clerk of the school board for district No. 4 several terms and also acted as census taker. He died on his farm July 4, 1888, greatly beloved by all who knew him. Mr. Guy was a home-loving man and was very fond of his family. His death was a severe blow not only to his bereaved wife and children, but also to his large circle of friends. Mrs. Guy is a woman of much ability and has always been a popular member of the community, where she is known as a person who is always ready to assist in every good cause. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
J. T. Gwaltney,
postmaster and general storekeeper of Hersey, was born in Dane county, Wisconsin, in the month of December, 11867, son of John T., a Virginian, who came to Wisconsin in 1865 and followed farming, coming to St. Croix county four years later. He is now living on his farm near Baldwin. J. T. worked at home and attended the common schools, remaining with his parents until 1896. At the age of twenty-one years he engaged in the general store business, and a few years later was made general manager for the St. Croix Cooperative Store Company, being placed in charge of their branch at Hersey. Mr. Gwaltney was married in 1888 to Nora Hathaway, daughter of Henry Hathaway, of South Bend, Ind. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909